Results 1 to 10 of 10

I have the 8300 curve on OS 4.2.2.173. is there a way to deactivate this, ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    mikadad's Avatar
    mikadad no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    1,159

    Deactivating Voicedialing

    Advertisement



    I have the 8300 curve on OS 4.2.2.173. is there a way to deactivate this, or remove it from the bb completely?

    Thanks
    Michael


  2. #2
    tj2311111's Avatar
    tj2311111 Guest

    Re: Deactivating Voicedialing

    Yes there is. I actually deleted it all together from my phone. It gave me some more memory for sure. Ill PM you the link since it is from the other BB site.

  3. #3
    mikadad's Avatar
    mikadad no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    1,159

    Re: Deactivating Voicedialing

    Thanks for the info...
    Michael


  4. #4
    cfrench's Avatar
    cfrench no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    961
    Quote Originally Posted by teamjordan23 View Post
    Yes there is. I actually deleted it all together from my phone. It gave me some more memory for sure. Ill PM you the link since it is from the other BB site.
    I also would like that info please!

  5. #5
    mikadad's Avatar
    mikadad no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    1,159

    Re: Deactivating Voicedialing

    i will send it to you
    Michael


  6. #6
    tj2311111's Avatar
    tj2311111 Guest

    Re: Deactivating Voicedialing

    Thanks for sending it to him mikadad. Hopefully the link helps both of you like it helped me in removing the VAD. Its frees up some much needed space.

  7. #7
    I7oobie's Avatar
    I7oobie no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,563
    Quote Originally Posted by teamjordan23 View Post
    Yes there is. I actually deleted it all together from my phone. It gave me some more memory for sure. Ill PM you the link since it is from the other BB site.
    Thank you TJ for that useful response, way to help the masses. Feel free to contribute the actual instructions for evetyone if you have the chance...
    Last edited by cherrichiodo; 12-13-2007 at 11:58 AM. Reason: Automerged.

  8. #8
    cyberspastic's Avatar
    cyberspastic no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,247

    Re: Deactivating Voicedialing

    yes, I wouldnt mind getting rid of voice dialing, I never use it.

  9. #9
    tj2311111's Avatar
    tj2311111 Guest

    Re: Deactivating Voicedialing

    Heres how you get rid of VAD:

    (All Credit Goes to John Clark of BBForuns)

    Im just passing this along to Pinstacks....

    First, if you're new to BB or you've never made modifications to your BB before then this may not be the procedure for you. However, if you're familiar with the BB and it's OS and have edited made modifications, such as for themes, then continue on.

    If you're like me and you never use the VAD installed on all the new BB's you can remove it and free up over 1/2MB of memory on your device. Also, some have complained that their BT headset keeps activating the voice dialing menu when they don't want it to. There's no way to disable it on the device but it can be removed by removing all the modules associated with it.

    Remove the following .cod's:

    net_rim_vad.cod
    net_rim_vad_resource.cod
    net_rim_vad_resource__en.cod
    net_rim_vad_engine_resource__en_US.cod (this is the big one that's over 1/2 a MB.)

    If you have other languages installed you will have other vad.cod's installed that you'll want to remove.


    You can do it with javaloader (if you know what you are doing) or you can remove it the same way you would any vendor themes you no longer want.

    Install Desktop Manager to the PC. Get it here.
    Install to the PC the OS package that matches what is installed on the handheld. Find your OS here.
    Then go to the java folder for the OS and rename or remove all the net_rim_vad.... cod's

    The java folder will be located here:
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\Shared\Loader Files\8320-v4.2.2.184_P2.5.0.40\Java
    (note: your BB model and version number may differ from mine but will be located in the same place.)

    In my case I simply renamed them like this: "REMnet_rim_vad..." but you can move them to another folder, or even delete them, if you like. You can always get them back again by running the OS installation package on your PC again. It's just easier to get them back if you don't delete them.

    Then run Desktop Manager and Application Loader. Nothing will show as needing an update in the main window with the checkboxes. However, just finish the apploader and you will see that the vad cod's will be removed. The device will reboot and you'll have no more VAD.

    Good luck!

    Disclaimer: I take no responsibility if this totally breaks your phone or if it blows up into a gazillion pieces after modifying in this manner.

    Warning: Removing the VAD .cod's on 4.3 and newer OS devices will render the Options >About screen inoperative. Everything else seems to work fine except for this. You can still use alt + eace to get the same information.
    If you would like to read the actual thread for results and etc....PM me and I will send the link.

  10. #10
    dts51's Avatar
    dts51 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask ;-)
    Posts
    346

    Re: Deactivating Voicedialing

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    RIM's VAD is almost useless (on my curve anyway)...the voice recognition works horrible. It would be nice if it worked right, buyt since it don't, there's no need to keep it on my curve.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •