Results 1 to 13 of 13

OK so i just got my new curve, 8320, and at first everything was fine. ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    coyoteoty's Avatar
    coyoteoty no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    44

    Data Problem

    Advertisement



    OK so i just got my new curve, 8320, and at first everything was fine. I installed opera mini and google maps, and they both worked just fine. Now opera wont connect to the internet and google maps wont either, but my BB browser and sms work fine... also, it wont let me create mms. nothing has changed, except under my bars it used to say EDGE in caps, now it says edge in lower case. any help would be appreciated

  2. #2
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Data Problem

    With lower case edge in the signal, you shouldn't even get any data capability. Try a re-boot by pressing ALT + CAP + DEL at the same time. and it that doesn't work try pulling the battery for about 15 sec.

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  3. #3
    N1KON's Avatar
    N1KON no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    2526CC32
    Posts
    27

    Re: Data Problem

    I get this problem with my 8310 the way i solved it was to wipe the handheld options/security options/general settings/menu/wipe handheld. this problem seems to be when certain java scripts conflict with each other. but first you can try deleting all the service books and re sending them to your device but this didnt always work for me.
    TMO UK
    PIN: 2526CC32

  4. #4
    coyoteoty's Avatar
    coyoteoty no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    44

    Re: Data Problem

    done both, still edge in lower case, still can use bb browser but nothing else

    idk whats going on
    -------
    when i wipe the handheld, does it just destroy everything or will it keep my contacts, pics, etc
    Last edited by coyoteoty; 12-15-2007 at 02:14 PM. Reason: Automerged.

  5. #5
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Data Problem

    A wipe from the security options, will delete all personal user data. If it is backed up you can do a restore. If you use any of the scripts that perform a javaloader usb wipe or the DOS Prompt Command itself, that wipes everything from the BB Flash.

    Hope this helps
    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  6. #6
    coyoteoty's Avatar
    coyoteoty no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    44

    Re: Data Problem

    ok thanks a lot hope it works

  7. #7
    squeakr's Avatar
    squeakr no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    541

    Re: Data Problem

    Data outage problem in your area possible?? Do you have another device to verify that this isn't the case before you go through all of the software wipe and reload effort. It could be something as simple as an outttage from your carrier in your area.

  8. #8
    bushey's Avatar
    bushey no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    askplz
    Posts
    76

    Re: Data Problem

    it looks we have the same problem coyoteoty take a look at my thread: http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com..._for_help.html
    I also downloaded google maps, opera mini and viigo. Everything seemed to work just fine (apart from opera mini that I just couldn't work out) and it used to say GPRS in capital letters, now it says gprs in lower case. I deleted all the mentioned software, even upgraded to a new OS for my curve and still nothing!!!! This thing is just killing me................
    Keep yourself nice.

  9. #9
    azmoto's Avatar
    azmoto no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    51

    Re: Data Problem

    Make sure to check application permissions just in case something got changed, you can always try to delete and redownload the apps.

  10. #10
    bushey's Avatar
    bushey no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    askplz
    Posts
    76

    Re: Data Problem

    I just wiped the handset completely as N1KON instructed.....and.....IT WORKS AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I am the happiest man alive at the moment!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Keep yourself nice.

  11. #11
    bushey's Avatar
    bushey no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    askplz
    Posts
    76

    Re: Data Problem

    the only downside is that I lost the BB browser...any ideas how to get it back?
    Keep yourself nice.

  12. #12
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Data Problem

    Register with the Network or login and resend your service books. You will always loose the BB Browsers when you reload the OS.

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  13. #13
    bushey's Avatar
    bushey no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    askplz
    Posts
    76

    Re: Data Problem

    just sent the service books from tmo website and the browser is back!!!
    Keep yourself nice.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •