Results 1 to 11 of 11

On the curve 8310 seems to freeze up everytime I try to format my 8gb ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    hybrid1976's Avatar
    hybrid1976 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    280C1909
    Posts
    237

    curve freezes

    Advertisement



    On the curve 8310 seems to freeze up everytime I try to format my 8gb memory card. I'm running the OS 4.5.0.55. What could possibly be the problem? I also am using a SDHC memory card.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  2. #2
    BES Noob's Avatar
    BES Noob no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    3,695
    Does it just hourglass for a long time? Or does it literally freeze like you can see the icons on the screen and you can't scroll up or down?

  3. #3
    hybrid1976's Avatar
    hybrid1976 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    280C1909
    Posts
    237
    It freezes on the screen where I go to format the card and I can't get off the screen. I end up having to do a battery pull to get it working again.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  4. #4
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    What if you just let it sit for a while? Cuz my bold takes its good time formatting the 4gb card I have, I'm sure the 8gb would be slower...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  5. #5
    jrhorner71's Avatar
    jrhorner71 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    PIN/ID
    @5K
    Posts
    843
    A little off topic but I thought curves couldn't use the sdhc cards.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  6. #6
    bill16's Avatar
    bill16 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    PIN/ID
    sorry no
    Posts
    418
    I can't say this is a fact,but I heard that if it is an older bb it may not be able to use the 8 gig card.I'm pretty sure I read it here somewhere.I'll try to find it,but no promises that I can.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #7
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    I think with 4.5 they can go 8 or 16gb...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  8. #8
    bill16's Avatar
    bill16 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    PIN/ID
    sorry no
    Posts
    418
    Ok I'm back.I couldn't find the info I was hunting for but I came across this that might answer your needs.
    http://forums.pinstack.com/f343/pearl_8100_taking_forever_format_memory_card-105056/
    It's not the same model of bb as your's,but the problem seems like it is.So the infor just might help.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  9. #9
    bill16's Avatar
    bill16 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    PIN/ID
    sorry no
    Posts
    418
    By the by.I also had a problem that I assumed was a bad card(it was a 4 gig sanddisk brand card).I bought the 8 gig same brand and it worked fine every since.Is it just a cheesy brand maybe? Some work and some don't?Well I don't know,but it sure seems that way to me now.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  10. #10
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by reddrvgon View Post
    I think with 4.5 they can go 8 or 16gb...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Correct any OS above .81 I believe it is will hold up to a 16 gb card. This issue sounds like a bad card I bought 4 awhile back and 1 of the 4 did this on my 8330 and my wifes 8130.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  11. #11
    bill16's Avatar
    bill16 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    PIN/ID
    sorry no
    Posts
    418
    Quote Originally Posted by moderncowboy View Post
    Correct any OS above .81 I believe it is will hold up to a 16 gb card. This issue sounds like a bad card I bought 4 awhile back and 1 of the 4 did this on my 8330 and my wifes 8130.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Sand disk brand?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •