Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

I have a Blackberry 8300 Curve. I have downloaded the Multilanguage pack. This pack does ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    spayce's Avatar
    spayce no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    2

    Question Curve Chinese Input

    Advertisement



    I have a Blackberry 8300 Curve. I have downloaded the Multilanguage pack. This pack does not include chinese. Blackberry is adversitesed as having chinese language support. I even have a pdf that explains how to install it, if I can find the software. I have had AT&T and RIM on the phone in a conference call, and they can't seem to help me. Does anyone have any suggestions about getting Chinese reading and Input onto this device.
    Last edited by spayce; 06-19-2007 at 04:55 PM.

  2. #2
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Curve Chinese Input

    spayce - which OS did you download? i believe there are 2 or 3 floating around..

  3. #3
    spayce's Avatar
    spayce no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Curve Chinese Input

    this is the language pack I downloaded. I did not update the OS. On cingular/bbdownloads I don't see any OS I can download. I am totally new to blackberry, how do I look at the OS version I have? 8300EFIGS_Dutch_PBr4.2.2_rel186_PL2.4.0.39_A4.2.2. 89_AT&T.exe

  4. #4
    anawrahta's Avatar
    anawrahta no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: Curve Chinese Input

    Hi spayce, I don't own a Curve but will buying one soon, and I absolutely need Chinese input support as well. I came across this link (below) to Hong Kong's CSL, who have their version of the OS for the Curve. You might want to check it out.


    blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=EEFC9E10EBDC4A2333B42B2DBB8F27B6

  5. #5
    xilongtoo's Avatar
    xilongtoo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: Curve Chinese Input

    hello,

    does anybody know what software should be installed to bb8800 to read chinese, please?

    thanks

  6. #6
    bobhammer's Avatar
    bobhammer no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    2171D09A
    Posts
    139

    Re: Curve Chinese Input

    which chinese input method are u talking abt, stroke or what?? if you are looking for stroke, it is only avaliable here in Hong Kong with Vodafone smartone!!
    http://www.smartone-vodafone.com/jsp...e_download.jsp
    Gtalk:bobhammer
    Yahoo:bobhammer3
    Msn:bobhammer3

  7. #7
    xilongtoo's Avatar
    xilongtoo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: Curve Chinese Input

    Thanks. Actually I just need to read Chinese emails and text messages. Unfortunately, Chinese is not supported in my 8800.

  8. #8
    bobhammer's Avatar
    bobhammer no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    2171D09A
    Posts
    139

    Re: Curve Chinese Input

    nono...use the link above that i provided....go to 8800 that section download it, delete the vendor file, this os should be able to let u read chinese and and send msg in chinese!!
    Gtalk:bobhammer
    Yahoo:bobhammer3
    Msn:bobhammer3

  9. #9
    muck's Avatar
    muck no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    2054A42F
    Posts
    23

    Re: Curve Chinese Input

    ive given up with the chinese packages that come with the lastest os.. as it seems to be missing some characters....... as i dont need input..
    these files came from blackberryforums i think.. for the 8100... they seem to work fine on my curve

    thats all that matters i guess
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    xilongtoo's Avatar
    xilongtoo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: Curve Chinese Input

    Quote Originally Posted by muck
    ive given up with the chinese packages that come with the lastest os.. as it seems to be missing some characters....... as i dont need input..
    these files came from blackberryforums i think.. for the 8100... they seem to work fine on my curve

    thats all that matters i guess

    Yes. I tried it. but it did not work. maybe it was because I didnot delete the vendor files. Then, can you please tell me how to delete these files.

    In addition, I am going to travel to China. Is there anybody who knows how to do the switch service in china?

  11. #11
    muck's Avatar
    muck no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    2054A42F
    Posts
    23

    Re: Curve Chinese Input

    just add application when in the desktop manager... add both the files.. and you should be able to read chinese...

    u dont have to fiddle with the vendor files...

    roaming is automatic ?

  12. #12
    xilongtoo's Avatar
    xilongtoo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5

    Smile Re: Curve Chinese Input

    Quote Originally Posted by muck
    just add application when in the desktop manager... add both the files.. and you should be able to read chinese...

    u dont have to fiddle with the vendor files...

    roaming is automatic ?
    Yes. I can now read chinese. Thank you so much.

    Cheers!

  13. #13
    sindu's Avatar
    sindu no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16

    Re: Curve Chinese Input

    So anyone figure out the chinese input for 8300 ??? I played with my colleague 8800 earlier and I found out that in the setting, his 8800 can actually change the input to chinese and there are several option avialable such as pinyin etc...

    I had asked Singtel (singapore) today whether their 8300 has the capability to input in chinese but their answer is no.. however, they said that the 8300 can display chinese character in both sms and email. What a lame !!!! But I think they got it wrong... right ??? I mean the 8800 was able to write in chinese...
    Last edited by sindu; 08-22-2007 at 11:25 AM.

  14. #14
    maninmotion34's Avatar
    maninmotion34 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Curve Chinese Input

    Quote Originally Posted by muck
    ive given up with the chinese packages that come with the lastest os.. as it seems to be missing some characters....... as i dont need input..
    these files came from blackberryforums i think.. for the 8100... they seem to work fine on my curve

    thats all that matters i guess

    I just downloaded the zip file and it works perfect on my 8300. Thank you, Muck! Does anyone know where to get pinyin input for Chinese for 8300? Thanks.

  15. #15
    sindu's Avatar
    sindu no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16

    Re: Curve Chinese Input

    My 8300 curve with 4.2.2.114 version does allow us to input chinese in various method and ofcourse do display chinese in both email and sms. My 8300 is under Singtel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •