Results 1 to 14 of 14

I have the new world edition 8830 and do not really like the keyboard. If ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    bigjames1300r's Avatar
    bigjames1300r no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    3

    Curve and Verizon, will it work?????

    Advertisement



    I have the new world edition 8830 and do not really like the keyboard. If i buy an unlocked 8300 what will it take to make the 8300 accept the verizon sim card? Any help is much appreciated.
    James

  2. #2
    Sprung's Avatar
    Sprung no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    304D032C
    Posts
    76

    Re: Curve and Verizon, will it work?????

    Unless Im mistaken, Verizons don't usually have SIM cards. At least mine never did. It's also a different network technology, GSM vs CDMA. Sadly, don't believe it can be done. Someone confirm this?
    NEW STORM on VZW, OLD: 8310 ,8300, 7130E

  3. #3
    bartokbatt's Avatar
    bartokbatt no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    678

    Re: Curve and Verizon, will it work?????

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Normally Verizon, Sprint and the other CDMA carriers get blackberries a year after they are released on GSM carriers. So get in line with the rest of us for a few more months till we can all dump the 8830 and its horrible keyboard and get a by-then obsolete Curve.

  4. #4
    bigjames1300r's Avatar
    bigjames1300r no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: Curve and Verizon, will it work?????

    The world version 8830 is a gsm phone, that is why it works all over the world. It does have a sim card and I actually tried to put it in an unlocked 8300, but it would not recognize the sim, so I am thinking that it is a software issue that can be fixed.

  5. #5
    cyberspastic's Avatar
    cyberspastic no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,247

    Re: Curve and Verizon, will it work?????

    You can't use a Curve on Verizon. Two completely different systems, they are incompatible.

  6. #6
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: Curve and Verizon, will it work?????

    actually the world edition 8830 is a hybrid GSM and CDMA. The SIM card is only "authorized" (given permission to access a network) overseas so it does not roam in the US.
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  7. #7
    applejosh's Avatar
    applejosh no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    346

    Re: Curve and Verizon, will it work?????

    Plus, IIRC, the radio frequencies that the 8830 uses are the ones outside the US (with the US using 800MHz and 1900Mhz and Europe (and others?) using 900MHz and 1800Mhz - or maybe vice versa).
    applejosh
    iPhone 4 (AT&T)
    OS 4.3

  8. #8
    bigjames1300r's Avatar
    bigjames1300r no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: Curve and Verizon, will it work?????

    Cliff thanks for the answer.

  9. #9
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: Curve and Verizon, will it work?????

    Quote Originally Posted by applejosh View Post
    Plus, IIRC, the radio frequencies that the 8830 uses are the ones outside the US (with the US using 800MHz and 1900Mhz and Europe (and others?) using 900MHz and 1800Mhz - or maybe vice versa).
    you are correct but backwards
    GSM - 900/1800 (European only)
    CDMA - 800/1900
    http://na.blackberry.com/eng/devices...specifications
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  10. #10
    quiksilver23's Avatar
    quiksilver23 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    9
    I suggest you hold on to your 8830 world edition until verizon releases its curve version. Coming soon!

  11. #11
    applejosh's Avatar
    applejosh no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    346

    Re: Curve and Verizon, will it work?????

    Quote Originally Posted by cliffr39 View Post
    you are correct but backwards
    GSM - 900/1800 (European only)
    CDMA - 800/1900
    http://na.blackberry.com/eng/devices...specifications
    Isn't that what I said?

    (And actually I was only talking about the GSM networks. I guess I should have been a little clearer there. Plus in that respect, I was wrong because I see the US GSM networks use 850 and 1900 MHz. I was just trying to explain why the GSM radio wouldn't work in the US. In a semi-inaccurate and round about way. )

    (And in a just-found-this-out moment, the Cayman Islands use the 900/1800 MHz GSM bands for data. But CDMA voice is available. Too bad I couldn't have found that out in person.)
    Last edited by applejosh; 01-07-2008 at 09:57 PM.
    applejosh
    iPhone 4 (AT&T)
    OS 4.3

  12. #12
    applejosh's Avatar
    applejosh no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    346

    Re: Curve and Verizon, will it work?????

    Quote Originally Posted by quiksilver23 View Post
    I suggest you hold on to your 8830 world edition until verizon releases its curve version. Coming soon!
    Hasn't it been "coming soon" for a while now?
    applejosh
    iPhone 4 (AT&T)
    OS 4.3

  13. #13
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: Curve and Verizon, will it work?????

    Lol yes you did sorry misread it backwards.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  14. #14
    applejosh's Avatar
    applejosh no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    346

    Re: Curve and Verizon, will it work?????

    Quote Originally Posted by cliffr39 View Post
    Lol yes you did sorry misread it backwards.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Well, I was still wrong, at least in what I was attempting to articulate. (And I get those frequencies mixed up all the time. I don't know why I really even try to remember that stuff; I don't even have a GSM capable phone. )
    applejosh
    iPhone 4 (AT&T)
    OS 4.3

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •