Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Hello ! I am like the relative who stays away and only shows up when ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    Bellidansa's Avatar
    Bellidansa no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    Pls Ask
    Posts
    299

    Curve 8900 downloading OS 4.7 issues

    Advertisement



    Hello !

    I am like the relative who stays away and only shows up when in need...

    This being said, I am upgrading from a Pearl 8100 (OS 4.2....) to the Curve 8900. In doing so, I noticed once I downloaded the desktop Manager 4.7 my PC locked up. I was told via the BB tech service (Tmobile) I will have to uninstall the previous desktop Manager 4.2 inorder for the 4.7 to work. (Really ?? never heard of that before..)

    Did, done that, still I cannot seem to open up the 4.7. I am beginning to wonder if I downloaded a virus, I had to restore my PC and it seems to work normally.

    I tried to download it again, and still stuck. I will be receiving my curve probably by tomorrow, was trying to get this rolling before my baby shows up.

    Perhaps I maybe living in the dark ages, was wondering if the Curve comes with a CD ROM with the newest Desktop Manager.

    Oh, BTW, I have Vista.

    Any ideas my love birds ??

    Happy Shimmies !

  2. #2
    rpol8052's Avatar
    rpol8052 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask me!
    Posts
    561
    try downloading it from the blackberry site the disk might be damaged
    http://na.blackberry.com/eng/services/desktop/

  3. #3
    snoopy0011's Avatar
    snoopy0011 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    11
    download DM 4.6 rather than 4.7.

    i am using vista myself and 4.7 was unstable with vista but 4.6 is stable and i don't have any issues with it.

  4. #4
    Bellidansa's Avatar
    Bellidansa no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    Pls Ask
    Posts
    299
    rpol8052,

    Alas, I tried downloading from blackberry site directly, I had the same issue....

    It created so much havoc on my system, slowed down everything. Will be playing around with it again when I get home this evening.

    I may try the BB web site again.

    Thanksssss !!

    Belli !

  5. #5
    Bellidansa's Avatar
    Bellidansa no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    Pls Ask
    Posts
    299
    Ok Snoopy0011 !!!!

    Will try this also....I actually had visions of setting a flame thrower to my PC......

    I am hearing much success with the 4.6....

    You have no idea how long I was on my PC....I had dell assisting me, then BB technical support, and then Verizon. I should have put them on 4 way and let them bicker it out while I finished shopping !

    THANKS !!!

  6. #6
    lisax4o9's Avatar
    lisax4o9 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    26
    i dl mines via http://www.t-mobile.com/bbupgrade/ and everything works fine and i am using vista also..mayb u need to erase/delete ur pearl handheld software and dl the 8900 handheld software first then dl the dtm 4.7 thats what i did hope it all works out

  7. #7
    mDRagON-'s Avatar
    mDRagON- no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    215c161f
    Posts
    372
    I use 4.6, always have problems with 4.7
    ~via BarackBerry Javelin 8900~

  8. #8
    drew4flt72's Avatar
    drew4flt72 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    520
    Quote Originally Posted by mDRagON- View Post
    I use 4.6, always have problems with 4.7
    ~via BarackBerry Javelin 8900~
    Ditto...DM 4.7 is evil

  9. #9
    Bellidansa's Avatar
    Bellidansa no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    Pls Ask
    Posts
    299
    The consensus has spoken 4.6 it is !

  10. #10
    rpol8052's Avatar
    rpol8052 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask me!
    Posts
    561
    Quote Originally Posted by drew4flt72 View Post
    Ditto...DM 4.7 is evil
    NOT TRUE...Im running DM 4.7 on vista64bit and I have no issues, yes there was an issue in the early releases of DM 4.7 but not no more

  11. #11
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    So here's the thing... I've been using 4.7 on vista for the longest... Basically since it came out... And am currewntly using it on XP... Will be reverting back to vista in a few days...

    Never had a problem with 4.7 at all... Dell laptop, vostro 1500 c2d 2ghz, 2gb, 128bm nvidia... No complaints...

    And yet I've heard many complaints re 4.7

    Maybe the root cause lies elsewhere? Another app perhaps? Or some specific hardware? (Usb maybe?)
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  12. #12
    Bellidansa's Avatar
    Bellidansa no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    Pls Ask
    Posts
    299
    just had my piece of crap Dell laptop cleaned, no issues....

    Why is it I am the special one ???????

    SHOOT ME NOW !! Well, not not after my foot rub, then shoot me !

  13. #13
    TheBigNewt's Avatar
    TheBigNewt no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    402
    I never touched the CD that came with my 8900, use 4.6 no problem transferring my contacts, backing up, etc. I have not had occasion to upgrade the OS with it though. I don't install the Roxio Media thingy. I use the plugin for iTunes synching of playlists that BB has posted. Works great.
    BB Pearl, Seidio rubberized case.

  14. #14
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Quote Originally Posted by Bellidansa View Post
    just had my piece of crap Dell laptop cleaned, no issues....

    Why is it I am the special one ???????

    SHOOT ME NOW !! Well, not not after my foot rub, then shoot me !

    Hey, you're not the only special one... My dell has its issues... 3 days after the warranty expired, it refuses to read generic cds and dvds. The dvd writer won't write anything and everything pulls up as a blank cd... All original software cd4 / dvds work fine though...

    And just to make things a little more on the miserable, the drive isn't modular... AND I'm in Pakistan... No dell service centers either !!! Beat that...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  15. #15
    rpol8052's Avatar
    rpol8052 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask me!
    Posts
    561
    oh wow i had a dell laptop about 2 yrs ago not no more!!! lol i spent too much money on it and was not worth it. Now I have a Toshiba, its just perfect

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •