Results 1 to 15 of 15

My curve is getting sort of slow navigating around. Could this be because i have ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    AlteredGenetics's Avatar
    AlteredGenetics no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    28

    Curve 8310 slow performance

    Advertisement



    My curve is getting sort of slow navigating around. Could this be because i have so many messages on it?
    I have not added any programs to it since i got it.
    Is there a way to delete all messages or see how much memory is being used?

  2. #2
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Curve 8310 slow performance

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    You could be low on memory. Check your status under options.

    You can delete all your messages by going to your messages and hit menu and select delete prior.

  3. #3
    stnkyq2's Avatar
    stnkyq2 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    IMTHTG
    Posts
    780

    Re: Curve 8310 slow performance

    You can check the memory by hitting the alt, caps and H it will show how much memory you have left; along with PIN, IMEI and etc.
    You can delete the cache for the browser; menu/ options Cache operations. Delete the Content Cache, Cookies Cache.
    You can delete the "Event log" by holding down the alt key and type LGLG; go to menu/options and Clear log.

  4. #4
    baseballkyle's Avatar
    baseballkyle no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    222

    Re: Curve 8310 slow performance

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~Remove all unnecessary foreign languages. Remove PTT. Remove useless items like BrickBreaker. Install the latest OS.

    Doing all these things should get your 8310 back up to speed! Good luck.

  5. #5
    AlteredGenetics's Avatar
    AlteredGenetics no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    28

    Re: Curve 8310 slow performance

    File free 15,554,577
    File total 54,919,168
    Is that bad?
    How do i remove languages and PTT

  6. #6
    VZDubtk's Avatar
    VZDubtk no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,436

    Re: Curve 8310 slow performance

    thats too little of memory.. gotta delete any cahche or unused languages or files such as "help" and "
    bb sample video"
    I Unlock All Mobile Devices, questions just ask

  7. #7
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877

    Re: Curve 8310 slow performance

    Quote Originally Posted by AlteredGenetics View Post
    File free 15,554,577
    File total 54,919,168
    Is that bad?
    How do i remove languages and PTT
    To remove languages and PTT you need to have the OS for your device installed on your
    PC.

    Check this thread for the latest OS for your device:
    https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...70A3A6658DFDD5
    how to upgrade here:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...rade_your.html

    To remove languages, once OS is installed on PC and you are ready to upgrade your device, when you run App Loader in DM you will uncheck the languages you don't want installed.

    The easiest way to remove PTT once you have the OS installed on your PC is to
    go into the following directory:
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\Shared\Loader Files\8310-v4.2.2.181_P2.5.0.35\Java
    click on View in the Window and change it to List so the files are easier to see
    and look for the following file:
    net_rim_bb_phone_ptt_app.cod
    and delete the file.
    Continue with your device upgrade after this file has been deleted.
    See the Official Latest OS threads updated regularly for All Devices.
    Forum Rules
    PinStack Trust Guide


  8. #8
    AlteredGenetics's Avatar
    AlteredGenetics no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    28

    Re: Curve 8310 slow performance

    Quote Originally Posted by harry3334 View Post
    thats too little of memory.. gotta delete any cahche or unused languages or files such as "help" and "
    bb sample video"


    OK ill try to take off the languages and ptt.

    cleared the cache already and deleted the sample video

  9. #9
    iamgoofy's Avatar
    iamgoofy no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    210ca18d
    Posts
    560

    Lightbulb Re: Curve 8310 slow performance

    when i conect my bb to my destop/manger to do a backup,,,everytime i do so afterwards my internet/browswer is no where to be found also my oz/im messenger is gone! and several other programs! the at&t reps dont have a clue as to how to help with this issue! all they ever do is resend service books! any help here? thanks



    Quote Originally Posted by Lavagirl View Post
    To remove languages and PTT you need to have the OS for your device installed on your
    PC.

    Check this thread for the latest OS for your device:
    https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...70A3A6658DFDD5
    how to upgrade here:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...rade_your.html

    To remove languages, once OS is installed on PC and you are ready to upgrade your device, when you run App Loader in DM you will uncheck the languages you don't want installed.

    The easiest way to remove PTT once you have the OS installed on your PC is to
    go into the following directory:
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\Shared\Loader Files\8310-v4.2.2.181_P2.5.0.35\Java
    click on View in the Window and change it to List so the files are easier to see
    and look for the following file:
    net_rim_bb_phone_ptt_app.cod
    and delete the file.
    Continue with your device upgrade after this file has been deleted.

  10. #10
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: Curve 8310 slow performance

    Quote Originally Posted by iamgoofy View Post
    when i conect my bb to my destop/manger to do a backup,,,everytime i do so afterwards my internet/browswer is no where to be found also my oz/im messenger is gone! and several other programs! the at&t reps dont have a clue as to how to help with this issue! all they ever do is resend service books! any help here? thanks
    ok you asked this same question in your own thread an hour ago http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...op_issues.html
    please don't ask in several locations.. it makes it harder for those assisting to keep a history of things said/tried.
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  11. #11
    AlteredGenetics's Avatar
    AlteredGenetics no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    28

    Re: Curve 8310 slow performance

    I must be doing something wrong because i dont get the option to update after i install the latest desktop manager.
    I have been paying more attention to when my BB gets faulty and it seems to only be when i go to open text messages from certain people. and then if i try to respond it sits on send for a while. but other people it works fine with. weird

  12. #12
    AlteredGenetics's Avatar
    AlteredGenetics no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    28

    Re: Curve 8310 slow performance

    Well i deleted all my old messages a week ago which gave me back a bit of memory. but now im back to the same thing. and its still only when i text one person. anyone else who i have less messages from works fine. i have it set to save my messages for 30 days. i find it hard to believe that this is what is causing my problem. my razr held messages for months and never had a problem. maybe ill reload my os.

  13. #13
    deshotels's Avatar
    deshotels no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by AlteredGenetics View Post
    Well i deleted all my old messages a week ago which gave me back a bit of memory. but now im back to the same thing. and its still only when i text one person. anyone else who i have less messages from works fine. i have it set to save my messages for 30 days. i find it hard to believe that this is what is causing my problem. my razr held messages for months and never had a problem. maybe ill reload my os.
    Anyone resolve this? I have the same problem. Its only to one person, the one I send and receive the most txt from. Even after I deleted all my messages, that same day it started acting slow again. And then somedays, it seems like the reception or something alows me to have faster access to this one person's msgs but 95% of the time its slow. Any help?

  14. #14
    Bananalex's Avatar
    Bananalex no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    19
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    The unofficial OS 4.5.0.81 has a tremendous improvement concerning memory leaks.
    There's a great tool called "CrackMem" to delete unnecessary stuff. Make sure though you know what you are doing

  15. #15
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Altered,

    One thing I don't think has been mentioned is got to your browswer, press the menu key, select options>browswer configuration and UNCHECK "Support JavaScript" - having that selected will often slow you to a crawl and, if you need Java support, you will be prompted for it. Good luck!
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •