Results 1 to 13 of 13

Hi All, Newbie here with a real problem with my 8300 Curve. Yesterday it suddenly ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    chessers75's Avatar
    chessers75 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3

    Curve 8300 Permanent Application Error 523

    Advertisement



    Hi All,

    Newbie here with a real problem with my 8300 Curve.

    Yesterday it suddenly started reading App Error 523 (Reset). I have tried resetting several times, taken the battery out overnight etc.

    When I resest, it runs until the opening Vodafone screen then defaults again to App Error 523 so I cannot even access the main menu to wipe.

    Any ideas, its very frustrating and I am unable to physically go into a shop until Friday.

    Any help would be massively appreciated.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Curve 8300 Permanent Application Error 523

    chessers
    Welcome to Pinstack. Sorry you are having problems but this should fix it...

    The most likely resolution here would be to reinstall your device operating system...install desktop manager if you have not already, then select a newer 8300 Device Operating system from Jerrys list found here:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/blog.php?b=86 download and install it on your desktop, then delete the vendor.alx file so your device will see it. Launch Desktop Manager and Application Loader and connect your phone and you should be prompted to upgrade. Be sure and select back up to retain information on your device.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    chessers75's Avatar
    chessers75 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3

    Re: Curve 8300 Permanent Application Error 523

    Cheers Gary, tried this last night and unfortunately the app loader fails to connect to device, it gets about 3/4 of the way to connection then times out.

    Message reads unable to connect to loader, please re-enter password for device. I enter the password at the beginning but maybe its timing out?

    Thanks again

  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Curve 8300 Permanent Application Error 523

    Ok, it should not do that. How many attempts?
    Lets look at your connection. Are you connected directly to your desktop (not a hub) using the supplied USB cable? Also by any change are you using a laptop? If so, check your power settings to make sure that the USB hub on the computer is not set to power down.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #5
    chessers75's Avatar
    chessers75 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3

    Re: Curve 8300 Permanent Application Error 523

    Hi Gary,

    Its via the USB lead to my PC. It starts to connect when the BlackBerry resets but when the device screen comes up with the App Err message it disconnects from Desktop Mngr and Application loader. Then comes up with unable to connect please re-enter p/word.

    Seems like its not good!

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Curve 8300 Permanent Application Error 523

    Ok...My "current" suspects in this mystery are as follows:

    1. When you start the OS install are you including any additional applications? If so uncheck these and try just to get the OS installed.
    2. Possible bad OS install on desktop? Is this a new download of an upgraded device operating system? For your carrier? What is the version?
    3. Possible corruption in Desktop Manager? What version are you running and did you install from a CD or a download?

    disclaimer...I retain the right to change my opinion without notice
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    nmcgregor's Avatar
    nmcgregor no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13
    Hi all,

    Theme Surreal generates this App Error 523. I deleted using Loader.exe and it booted into OS 4.5 no problem. I will only download proven themes from no on.

    Thanks,

    Nick

  8. #8
    blownbyboost's Avatar
    blownbyboost no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2497293d
    Posts
    32
    wow!! APP ERROR 523. i just did the updtae available through tmo for the 4.5.0.81 then i decided to switch to the surreal theme what a ****ing disaster. i spent all night with it.

    the easiest wasy to fix was goto C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader. then !! open the app loader file. it still would not read my phone....................... once you have the app loader open have you phone plugged in via usb and hit reset on the error msg. when phone is rebboting it connects so you can dlt surreal theme. attempting to slt theme through regular desktop app loader would not work. i know this is gonna be a problem for many others cause if it wasnt for this thread and realizing that in fact it is the sureeal theme cause the problem i was gonna loft my 8320 out the window.

  9. #9
    Ang3la's Avatar
    Ang3la no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by nmcgregor View Post
    Hi all,

    Theme Surreal generates this App Error 523. I deleted using Loader.exe and it booted into OS 4.5 no problem. I will only download proven themes from no on.

    Thanks,

    Nick
    I, too, am a victim of this horrible theme. I was really looking forward to seeing what it looked like. LOL!

    I am saved! Thank you, ALL!!!
    Last edited by Ang3la; 03-15-2009 at 03:54 AM.

  10. #10
    fcruz's Avatar
    fcruz no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    2481F40B
    Posts
    22

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by blownbyboost View Post
    wow!! APP ERROR 523. i just did the updtae available through tmo for the 4.5.0.81 then i decided to switch to the surreal theme what a ****ing disaster. i spent all night with it.

    the easiest wasy to fix was goto C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader. then !! open the app loader file. it still would not read my phone....................... once you have the app loader open have you phone plugged in via usb and hit reset on the error msg. when phone is rebboting it connects so you can dlt surreal theme. attempting to slt theme through regular desktop app loader would not work. i know this is gonna be a problem for many others cause if it wasnt for this thread and realizing that in fact it is the sureeal theme cause the problem i was gonna loft my 8320 out the window.
    Worked like a charm. THANK YOU
    Hey, I'm an addict 2! =)

  11. #11
    kemtek.1's Avatar
    kemtek.1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by blownbyboost View Post
    wow!! APP ERROR 523. i just did the updtae available through tmo for the 4.5.0.81 then i decided to switch to the surreal theme what a ****ing disaster. i spent all night with it.

    the easiest wasy to fix was goto C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader. then !! open the app loader file. it still would not read my phone....................... once you have the app loader open have you phone plugged in via usb and hit reset on the error msg. when phone is rebboting it connects so you can dlt surreal theme. attempting to slt theme through regular desktop app loader would not work. i know this is gonna be a problem for many others cause if it wasnt for this thread and realizing that in fact it is the sureeal theme cause the problem i was gonna loft my 8320 out the window.
    Thank you for your solution! I just updated to OS 4.5 and saw that the Surreal theme, which I had before and liked, was "still available". NOW I remember it was not supported.
    Using your method I:
    Started Apploader.exe
    Plugged in my phone when it said to make sure it was connected
    It connected, then followed prompts until the installed apps was listed
    I un-checked the Surreal theme from the list
    Apploader removed Surreal as I
    I clicked through to finish
    The phone started up, first with the Surreal 'busy' cursor -
    Which switched to a rotating hourglass 'busy' cursor
    The phone restarted a few times, then finally started to the default theme.
    I'm glad my Mom named me Aaron,
    That's what everybody calls me.

  12. #12
    ganns1980's Avatar
    ganns1980 no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    853
    I hate to sound mean, but it's a proven fact that Surreal does NOT work with 4.5. http://forums.pinstack.com/f52/surre...rom_rim-76525/
    Proof of absence is not absence of proof.



  13. #13
    Lx's Avatar
    Lx
    Lx no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1
    Thank you so much for all those who've had this problem before me. The advice/fix supplied by GaryF has sorted my problem. I've been on various other sites and none have helped as much as this.

    I updated my OS system from 4.2 to 4.5 mainly cos my husbands phone came back from RIM with it on - didn't even occur to me that anything else I'd loaded would conflict!

    I didn't realise I'd downloaded 'surreal' but i had a look just in case - and guess what , there it was bold as brass. Now removed and I have my BB back - I am soooooo relieved.

    Again many thanks to those who've suffered before me.




Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •