Results 1 to 6 of 6

My phone started roaming yesterday, all day, and no data, only voice. Funny thing is, ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    s4berry's Avatar
    s4berry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    256

    Constant Roaming

    Advertisement



    My phone started roaming yesterday, all day, and no data, only voice. Funny thing is, it only roams within about a 1 to 2 block radius. So while I'm stuck in the office, I get no texts, no email, and no web access. I called 611 and the rep said a cell tower was out or something so that was the reason. Fine, but it happens again today. So I walk 2 blocks to the Tmo store, and of course I start getting Edge coverage again, and I ask a guy if they were having coverage problems. He said no, maybe it's my old sim card since they were converting to 3G. So I whip out my shiny 8900, which they don't have yet, and he was surprised :-). Anyway, he switches to a new sim card and said hopefully that helps. Well, no it didn't. Once I got about a half block away, it started roaming again.

    So my question is, would a cell tower have such a limited coverage like that? Mind you, this the downtown business district. Why would I have tmo coverage on one side of the street, and no coverage on the other side? Maybe secret military testing going on in one of the buildings?

    Also, do you think I could call cust care and ask for some kind of credit for the lost usage for the better part of a few days?

  2. #2
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    You may want to contact technical support at TMO and have them remove your data plan all together, then put it right back on followed by a battery pull. Works wonders with most carriers.

    However, if a tower is actually down there may not be a quick resolution until TMO gets their tower technicians to resolve the issue. If you get technical support to open a network trouble ticket, they could follow up with you once its resolved or provide an update on the downed tower. Since you are downtown, the buildings will only add to your frustration currently.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  3. #3
    s4berry's Avatar
    s4berry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    256
    Thanks. I'll see how it goes tomorrow.

    ~via smartphone~

  4. #4
    s4berry's Avatar
    s4berry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    256
    Still the same today. Went to the store again and they said a tower had an issue and was in "pending" status. And I wasn't the only one. They had a few other BB owners go into the store complaining.

    All I can do is wait and see if the problem is fixed on monday. At least I have regular coverage outside of that 1-2 block radius.

  5. #5
    Aleksrussian's Avatar
    Aleksrussian no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    PIN/ID
    30546CA8
    Posts
    751
    Call *228 not sure if T mobile has this but you can try It will refresh the service.

  6. #6
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    This happened to me three times in the time I've had T-Mobile. The first time was back in 2005 when I had my 7100t. I had to replace the device due to the issue. The second time was January 2008 and the last time was 4 months later in May. The last 2 times it was my SIM card. The first SIM card I had to replace (which was replaced in January 2008) was one I'd had for YEARS (don't ask how it lasted so long). It showed SIM Initialization Error or something like that in 2 different messaging phones (SideKick 3 and BlackBerry Pearl 8100). Then I had to turn around in May and replace THAT card I got in January. It kept flopping back and forth between WIFI, EDGE, and edge. I got sporadic emails for a WEEK AND A HALF before I finally gave up and just took it back.

    This, along with several other reception and signal issues, is why I can't wait for March 2010 to get here so I can switch to get better coverage.
    Last edited by EricaJ1073; 02-06-2009 at 11:26 PM.


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •