Results 1 to 15 of 15

Ever since I got the bb 8900 I havent been able to sign in to ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    clary33's Avatar
    clary33 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    176

    Question Connection Issues with Windows Live Messenger

    Advertisement



    Ever since I got the bb 8900 I havent been able to sign in to my msn messenger. It either says it cant connect to server or something eles. Is anyone eles having this problem? and is there a way to fix it?

    Thanx
    ~ Clary~

    *Live, Love, Laugh*

  2. #2
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Clary33,
    Go to options/advanced options/applications and scroll over windows live messenger. Then hit your menu key and go to edit default permissions and see what they are set on. Mine are allow, custom, allow. Setting them all to allow may fix your issue.

  3. #3
    TheMercuryMan's Avatar
    TheMercuryMan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    24ADA6AB
    Posts
    98
    i think its a tmobile deal mine will not work either

  4. #4
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    I have a friend on AT&T with the same problem. It's been going on for months and we just gave up. After doing several wipes, even with JL_Cmdr, and reloading OS, updating OS, etc. and it still won't work. It started after he upgraded from the 87xx to the Curve. Very bizarre.

  5. #5
    pat-wallace's Avatar
    pat-wallace no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    30436da6
    Posts
    21
    i even made a new account, still wont connect... grrr

  6. #6
    clary33's Avatar
    clary33 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    176
    Yea my permissions r set to custom... Well I guess this issue will never get fixed. Thanks everyone
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #7
    Dabbill's Avatar
    Dabbill no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ADC49A
    Posts
    90
    I think its a routing problem on the RIM servers. I can get it to connect if I just keep retrying. Some days it will connect first try. Other days it will take 5 or 6 tries.

  8. #8
    penk's Avatar
    penk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    105
    i posted an obnoxious message over at BBFO, but i'll spare you all that here.

    on .114 wlm worked like a charm, but after upgrading to .168 it wouldn't connect and i received the "Service not enabled" crap. so i went to the BB HELP! bookmark and downloaded from there (to WLM 2.1.41) and the sign in was immediate after the reboot.


    but now looking in the Applications list i see two WLM 2.1.41 listed... so i give up.



    (but it does seem to be working)

  9. #9
    blkmz3's Avatar
    blkmz3 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    473
    Yeah I have the same prob.. i just gave up.. sometimes it works sometimes it doesnt..

  10. #10
    rajafarhan's Avatar
    rajafarhan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    PIN/ID
    20F44149
    Posts
    484
    When mine acted the same in the previous operating system. i set all Permissions to allow.Went into Security>general settings and scrolled down to WLM 2.1 and clicked on it to verify security software. All tests passed.Also go to applications and check in windows media live properties if it has the following Modules.

    Net_rim_qm_msn_resource_en
    Net_rim_qm_msn

    Then go to the log by hitting alt+L+G+L+G and clear the whole thing and sign in....
    These steps made my msn work on my previous OS...

    Oh you have to do a battery pull after yoy clear the log...The sign in will take long after this but should sign in
    Last edited by rajafarhan; 03-03-2009 at 12:05 PM. Reason: missed a point

  11. #11
    blkmz3's Avatar
    blkmz3 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    473
    is this a one time fix??

  12. #12
    rajafarhan's Avatar
    rajafarhan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    PIN/ID
    20F44149
    Posts
    484
    Not sure I've fixed two bb's windows live sign in issue like this. Never bugged me afterwards. Sometimes the carrier also blocks these apps from the backend or sometimes company IT policy doesn't allow this. Give it a shot though.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  13. #13
    rajafarhan's Avatar
    rajafarhan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    PIN/ID
    20F44149
    Posts
    484
    Oh also re-send your service book to your device again. Hope all this helps. Good luck...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  14. #14
    pat-wallace's Avatar
    pat-wallace no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    30436da6
    Posts
    21

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by rajafarhan View Post
    Oh also re-send your service book to your device again. Hope all this helps. Good luck...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Testing...

  15. #15
    artcarney's Avatar
    artcarney no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by TheMercuryMan View Post
    i think its a tmobile deal mine will not work either
    I'm on T-Mobile with an 8900, works perfectly for me ....

    I just signed in, didn't have to apply any fixes.
    Last edited by artcarney; 03-17-2009 at 08:55 AM. Reason: Add last line.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •