Results 1 to 14 of 14

I have an 8300 just under a week old on Cingular (AT&T). Last week when ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    dalem's Avatar
    dalem no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    6

    Clock suddenly wrong

    Advertisement



    I have an 8300 just under a week old on Cingular (AT&T). Last week when experimenting with the desktop software I noticed that the clock was wrong by a small amount (less than an hour). The "use network time" setting was on, so I just told it again to use network time and that set the clock correct. I figured perhaps something to with the connection to the computer messed up the clock - though the computer clock was correct.

    However this morning the 9:00 AM alarm beeped alerting me to a 10:00 AM appointment. I didn't think it was 9 already, so I checked another clock and sure enough it was not. I think the 6:45 alarm wake up was the correct time, and yet the by 9 the phone had messed up it's clock.

    Is this a software bug anyone has reported? I haven't been able to find mention of it. Here is the useful data:

    --------------------------------------
    Settings -> Options -> Date/Time:
    Time zone: Pacific Time (-8)
    Time: 10:38
    Time Format: 12 hour
    Date: Mon, June 11, 2007
    Date/Time Source: Network
    Network Time: 10:19
    Network Date: Mon, Jun 11, 2007
    -------------------------------------

    Note that the time source is set to Network, and yet the phone time and network time do not agree. The battery is fully charged. I turned the phone off after noticing this problem. I removed the battery for about 30 seconds, then powered it up again. The phone time display remained incorrect.

    Settings -> Options -> about:
    v4.2.2.89 (Platorm 2.4.0.39)

    This will be a fatal flaw, as I have to have a reliable time source in the phone for alarms. I did fix the "no calendar notification" problem by deleting the CICAL service book entries. I'm hoping this is a known problem that will have a software fix. Any info appreciated.

  2. #2
    cingular_jr's Avatar
    cingular_jr no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    24045d7b
    Posts
    7

    Re: Clock suddenly wrong

    I had this happen when I connected it to my computer as well because for some goofy reason the Time zone reset. I have not heard if there was a known issue ticket on it or not. I simply reset the time zone and it was all better

  3. #3
    Pearldiver01's Avatar
    Pearldiver01 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: Clock suddenly wrong

    on my 8100 pearl used to happen all the time. It would change my time zone to Eniwetok (-12). it hasnt done this in a while. mostly because I stopped connected to my desktop. I posted on this before but no reply.. im with cingular also.

  4. #4
    biteboc's Avatar
    biteboc no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Clock suddenly wrong

    Quote Originally Posted by Pearldiver01
    on my 8100 pearl used to happen all the time. It would change my time zone to Eniwetok (-12). it hasnt done this in a while. mostly because I stopped connected to my desktop. I posted on this before but no reply.. im with cingular also.
    +1 Mine keeps doing this all the time [Eniwetok (-12) time zone]. I did not realize it happened when I connect it to my PC but I now I be on the lookout for that. It is very annoying for sure. Is there a fix for that? BTW I'm with T-Mo
    Thanks.

  5. #5
    RayinMaui's Avatar
    RayinMaui no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Clock suddenly wrong

    Quote Originally Posted by biteboc
    +1 Mine keeps doing this all the time [Eniwetok (-12) time zone]. I did not realize it happened when I connect it to my PC but I now I be on the lookout for that. It is very annoying for sure. Is there a fix for that? BTW I'm with T-Mo
    Thanks.
    I just got a T-Mobile Curve (8320) and whenever I sync it changes the time zone to Eniwetok also!

    Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance,

    Ray

  6. #6
    synik103's Avatar
    synik103 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    OICU812
    Posts
    2,013

    Re: Clock suddenly wrong

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~kill the "use network time"! You're telling your BB to update the time with whatever tower it hits, so if that tower is in another time zone, or off by a few minutes, your clock will change. I work in the central time zone but my employer uses eastern time, so I turned off "network time" and when I cross state lines, my clock stays put.

  7. #7
    nyydynasty's Avatar
    nyydynasty no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    317

    Re: Clock suddenly wrong

    good to know. I have a similar issue and I never knew the difference between "network" and "blackberry" times

    lol
    www.iamletired.com
    ...come one, come all....

  8. #8
    fe's Avatar
    fe
    fe no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    46

    Re: Clock suddenly wrong

    Quote Originally Posted by synik103
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~kill the "use network time"! You're telling your BB to update the time with whatever tower it hits, so if that tower is in another time zone, or off by a few minutes, your clock will change. I work in the central time zone but my employer uses eastern time, so I turned off "network time" and when I cross state lines, my clock stays put.
    When I owned the 8703e and now the curve my phone would always be off by 10 minutes or so. Whats the cause and how does one fix it?

  9. #9
    rexlt's Avatar
    rexlt no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: Clock suddenly wrong

    I have found with both blackberry & other OS phones that the network time settings always muck up eventually for some as yet unexplained reason especially if you are on daylight savings time.

    It appears to work better if you turn off the network time syncing & leave it on manual. When you sync with your computer the clock will generally be updated to the computer time (if you have not unchecked the update date/time settings in the desktop software). Of course ensure that your computer time is set properly before you sync.

  10. #10
    synik103's Avatar
    synik103 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    OICU812
    Posts
    2,013

    Re: Clock suddenly wrong

    Quote Originally Posted by fe
    When I owned the 8703e and now the curve my phone would always be off by 10 minutes or so. Whats the cause and how does one fix it?

    the cause is the device is polling other networks that may be off by any amount of time, the fix is turn off network time... as seen in the above posts.

    on my 8100 its options>date/time>date/time source: OFF

    dont forget to save your changes
    The above commentary is for entertainment purposes only. If this was actual joke the tone you just heard would have been followed by emergency response information. It's supposed to be fun people.

  11. #11
    dsears33's Avatar
    dsears33 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    30bc7eec
    Posts
    37

    Re: Clock suddenly wrong

    same thing happened to me also when connecting to desktop.....eniwetok time zone also.....it was with vista..

  12. #12
    MeatLoafT's Avatar
    MeatLoafT no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    246

    Re: Clock suddenly wrong

    I have a question about this, I had the same problem, so I turned date/time source to OFF. I understand the NETWORK setting as well, but what is the BLACKBERRY setting? Does it sync the time with the DM?

  13. #13
    DonGato's Avatar
    DonGato no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    244

    Re: Clock suddenly wrong

    If you have the option to do it yes. Check in Sync options (I mean in DM).

  14. #14
    synik103's Avatar
    synik103 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    OICU812
    Posts
    2,013

    Re: Clock suddenly wrong

    Quote Originally Posted by MeatLoafT
    I have a question about this, I had the same problem, so I turned date/time source to OFF. I understand the NETWORK setting as well, but what is the BLACKBERRY setting? Does it sync the time with the DM?
    that's been my assumption... i just set the clock with something reliable and leave it alone...
    The above commentary is for entertainment purposes only. If this was actual joke the tone you just heard would have been followed by emergency response information. It's supposed to be fun people.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •