Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

when hooked to a USB at home it works fine. but when at work i ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    jeradkays's Avatar
    jeradkays no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    247312E4
    Posts
    6

    Charging Current not sufficient

    Advertisement



    when hooked to a USB at home it works fine. but when at work i get the "USB Charging Current is not sufficient..." error.

    I am on a laptop at work that is in a docking station. I have tried to hook it up via USB hub, to the docking station and also directly to the laptop when it is not docked.

    anyway around this. All I am attempting to do is charge the dang thing lol

  2. #2
    krikor222's Avatar
    krikor222 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    3022BBE5
    Posts
    205
    I believe you must already have installed the Blackberry Desktop Software to be able to charge your blackberry through USB.
    Shawn K.

    Device: BlackBerry Curve 8330 v4.5.0.56
    Carrier: Bell Mobility (Canada)
    PIN: 3022BBE5

  3. #3
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    There are several possible causes for this....here is what I would suggest you check:

    Although you do not need the desktop software, you do need the USB drivers for your device installed on the machin (especially on a Vista machine.) These can be DL'd from the same location as Desktop Manager (see my blog for a link)

    All USB cables are not created equal. Are you using the same cable at work as at home?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #4
    jeradkays's Avatar
    jeradkays no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    247312E4
    Posts
    6
    I am using the usb cable that came with the BB. The one with the larger filter on the end. only problem I have here is I can not install drivers because we dont have access to install things on our systems.

  5. #5
    krikor222's Avatar
    krikor222 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    3022BBE5
    Posts
    205
    Ya, without that software you wont be able to charge your BB via usb.
    Shawn K.

    Device: BlackBerry Curve 8330 v4.5.0.56
    Carrier: Bell Mobility (Canada)
    PIN: 3022BBE5

  6. #6
    jeradkays's Avatar
    jeradkays no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    247312E4
    Posts
    6
    I can still set up my media card to Mass storage and transfer files though. :S that is too bad. Maybe I can talk one of the admin jockies here to give me access to get the DM installed.
    Last edited by jeradkays; 07-07-2008 at 12:29 PM.

  7. #7
    bigblue95z's Avatar
    bigblue95z no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    113
    Unless you have the driver alone or the desktop manager software you're gonna have that issue. If you bring a box of Krispy Kreme doughnuts to your IT people and explain what you're trying to do(charge it, not install games/waste company time) they should help ya out. If not, kick 'em in their junk.

  8. #8
    krikor222's Avatar
    krikor222 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    3022BBE5
    Posts
    205
    That is exactly what I did, not much bad can come out of it. (Other then you not working and try new apps/themes all day like I do) lool
    Shawn K.

    Device: BlackBerry Curve 8330 v4.5.0.56
    Carrier: Bell Mobility (Canada)
    PIN: 3022BBE5

  9. #9
    p00rcoll3geboi's Avatar
    p00rcoll3geboi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    2474A786
    Posts
    110
    Some usb ports aren't set up to deliver power, only connection; while other usb ports are set up to provide both. Some hardwares like webcams require you to plug it in the usb ports on the back of a desktop computer because only those deliver power. If you plugged it to the front, you'll only see a connection made but the cam will not be useable due to insufficient power. I believe this is your problem. If you took the laptop off the docking station and plug it in directly into the laptop's usb port, it should work

  10. #10
    pipewerkz's Avatar
    pipewerkz no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    20FA9856
    Posts
    61
    My guess is its the driver, you should have desktop manager installed. Are you hooked up through your companies BES or is it just your personal blackberry?

    If its BES your IT dept should install it for you without issue, if its your personal BB.. Well I work in IT and I prob wouldn't install it for you, sorry dude.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    jeradkays's Avatar
    jeradkays no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    247312E4
    Posts
    6
    its personal but i know people here so maybe i can get it.

  12. #12
    krikor222's Avatar
    krikor222 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    3022BBE5
    Posts
    205
    Once again, without the Blackberry Desktop Software installed on the computer, you will not be able to charge the device!

    Once you've installed it and you still cannot charge, then I'd consider the drivers. But we're in the year 2008, and any office should have the correct drivers installed already, and at the least have computers equipped with the newest USB hardware , especially if your company runs a BES. lol
    Shawn K.

    Device: BlackBerry Curve 8330 v4.5.0.56
    Carrier: Bell Mobility (Canada)
    PIN: 3022BBE5

  13. #13
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by krikor222 View Post
    Once again, without the Blackberry Desktop Software installed on the computer, you will not be able to charge the device!

    Once you've installed it and you still cannot charge, then I'd consider the drivers. But we're in the year 2008, and any office should have the correct drivers installed already, and at the least have computers equipped with the newest USB hardware , especially if your company runs a BES. lol
    That's not entirely true, Shawn. I was not able to charge my BB here at work for this very reason, but I dowloaded ONLY the drivers from the BlackBerry site and now am able to charge my device, so I for one can vouch for doing it this way.

    Regards,
    Roger

  14. #14
    pipewerkz's Avatar
    pipewerkz no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    20FA9856
    Posts
    61
    Quote Originally Posted by krikor222 View Post
    Once again, without the Blackberry Desktop Software installed on the computer, you will not be able to charge the device!

    Once you've installed it and you still cannot charge, then I'd consider the drivers. But we're in the year 2008, and any office should have the correct drivers installed already, and at the least have computers equipped with the newest USB hardware , especially if your company runs a BES. lol
    Who cares what year it is? Why should we (IT) be putting drivers on standard user PC's? I don't want any computer "savy" user hooking up their device to my machines for any reason. They are company property. Use the charger that plugs into the wall...

    We have enough issues to deal with without you guys downloading themes and other random apps with viruses or what not then complain that your computer is broke.

    /rant

  15. #15
    krikor222's Avatar
    krikor222 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    3022BBE5
    Posts
    205
    Hey Roger,

    I guess I misread the posts above, I figured they meant USB drivers.

    But you are absolutely correct, the driver is included in the Blackberry Desktop Software or you can download it by itself without having Desktop Manager.
    Shawn K.

    Device: BlackBerry Curve 8330 v4.5.0.56
    Carrier: Bell Mobility (Canada)
    PIN: 3022BBE5

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •