Results 1 to 6 of 6

How would I change the 802.11x MAC ADDRESS on my blackberry curve?... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    mcrook's Avatar
    mcrook no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1

    Question Change the WiFi MAC ADDRESS on my 8320

    Advertisement



    How would I change the 802.11x MAC ADDRESS on my blackberry curve?

  2. #2
    jdellasala's Avatar
    jdellasala no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,573
    I searched the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center, and couldn't find anything about changing the device's MAC Address.
    .
    JerryD

  3. #3
    jbreidel's Avatar
    jbreidel no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    241EDB49
    Posts
    112
    If its anything like a PC, you cannot change the MAC address. It is hard encoded into the device itself, or rather the Wifi component of the phone. However if you are trying to set like a static IP or something with it, just use the mac address and make a reservation for it.

  4. #4
    Thyth's Avatar
    Thyth no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    273
    You can change the MAC address in any modern computer operating system, however, this ability is not present in the BlackBerry operating system -- at least, not the ones that appear outside of RIM labs.

    There are very few situations in which changing a device MAC is the way to solve the problem, and that ability is most often used for nefarious purposes. I doubt RIM would enable such functionality on end-user devices.

  5. #5
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440
    Changing the MAC address on PC can involve registry editing or 3rd party utilities. Don't think it can be changed on BB without some sort of hacking. *not recommended*

  6. #6
    jdellasala's Avatar
    jdellasala no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,573
    Quote Originally Posted by Thyth View Post
    You can change the MAC address in any modern computer operating system
    Where in Windows do you change the MAC Address? I've only seen it available on Drivers for SOME NICs, but not in the OS. Same for Linux (last I looked anyway).
    .
    JerryD

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •