Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 113

@SMURF im having the same problem like kretus..pls help... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #16
    seanmarc1122's Avatar
    seanmarc1122 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    10

    Advertisement



    @SMURF im having the same problem like kretus..pls help

  2. #17
    Kretus's Avatar
    Kretus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    131
    nothing works so far

  3. #18
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by Kretus View Post
    ....................like the phone is restarting every 5 seconds...

    smurf can u msn me??


    p0lska1@hotmail.com

    or aim

    pawel710
    Quote Originally Posted by Kretus View Post
    can u aim me

    my sn is pawel710
    Quote Originally Posted by Kretus View Post
    modern can u contact me through aim


    pawel710 is my sn
    Kretus, There's nothing wrong with using the PM system, or email or IM, if you need to but with your problem it would be so much better if you can keep this going in the thread.

    You'll have better exposure and, therefore, better chances for help from available users and, once you've solved the problem you're having, other users can benefit from your solution.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  4. #19
    Kretus's Avatar
    Kretus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    131
    tried most of the methods but none saved my phone

  5. #20
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Kretus, Please describe the condition of your phone and/or your situation in as much detail as you can provide and let's see if we can solve this problem for you.

    What to you have currently installed on your p-c in the way of OS, DM, etc. and what operating system are you using. Is your device backed up?
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  6. #21
    Kretus's Avatar
    Kretus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    131
    My phone is blackberry curve 8320
    i can't turn it on.. only the red light blinks, and computer doesn't recognize it..
    only it recognizes for few seconds when im in app loader on the initialization wait step.. but that only last for few seconds and then i can hear in my speakers the sound like i would be plugging in and unplugging my device in usb, and it repeats that

    currently i have installed
    blackberry deskopt software 4.5
    blackberry device software v4.5.0 for the blackberry 8320 smarthphone

    i backed up my device yesterday before installing the os version 4.7

    but i talked to moderncowboy and he told me to install 4.5 or 4.6

  7. #22
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  8. #23
    Kretus's Avatar
    Kretus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    131
    [quote=GaryF;993989]Have you tried the steps in this thread yet?




    yes i cant do step 5.. Go to Options and select "connection settings"

  9. #24
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    What happens at that point / what do you see??

    Did you try selecting Detect Device?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #25
    Kretus's Avatar
    Kretus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    131
    where do i go for detect device

  11. #26
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Under OPTIONS (top right of the DM Screen) / Connection Options what do you see in the pull down menu called Connection Type:?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  12. #27
    Kretus's Avatar
    Kretus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    131
    device manager or deskopt manager??

  13. #28
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Sorry, desktop manager.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  14. #29
    Kretus's Avatar
    Kretus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    131
    usb then it switches from usb to usb- pin: 0 and it keeps switching every 3 seconds


    and for device manager the com1 and com2 is disabled
    Last edited by Kretus; 12-16-2008 at 12:01 PM.

  15. #30
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    And you have already removed the battery? If not, please do so and try again and report the result....
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •