Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Well, I was with the mother of my daughter for the weekend and password-ed the ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    in4am0spun's Avatar
    in4am0spun no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ABA5D2
    Posts
    82

    Cant Turn off Screen Lock

    Advertisement



    Well, I was with the mother of my daughter for the weekend and password-ed the 8900... Come monday, I went to take it off, "Disabled" it, entered my password and i thought it was now unlocked from the screen lock... Turns out its not.. Ran thru the search and found nothing to help me out, May n e one help me out with this?

  2. #2
    cbeslash's Avatar
    cbeslash no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    26936cc9
    Posts
    648
    If I understand you correctly you forgot or can't remember your password. If you mean locked just push the unlock key on the top left. If you can not remember your password after 10 tries I believe you will have to reinstall your os.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Last edited by cbeslash; 06-24-2009 at 11:23 AM.

  3. #3
    MStrawder's Avatar
    MStrawder no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    1,825
    Go to Options > Password and change "Password" to "Disabled". And the above post is correct that there is a finite number of password attempts before it will wipe all personal data from the handheld.
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate, but that we are powerful beyond measure" ~ Marianne Williamson
    Current OS list by device
    How to upgrade your OS

  4. #4
    in4am0spun's Avatar
    in4am0spun no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ABA5D2
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by cbeslash View Post
    If I understand you correctly you forgot or can't remember your password. If you mean locked just push the unlock key on the top left. If you can not remember your password after 10 tries I believe you will have to reinstall your os.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    No I know the password. And i tried disabling the password and it still requests me for the password when i turn off screen lock. AFTER the fact that I disabled it.

    Quote Originally Posted by MStrawder View Post
    Go to Options > Password and change "Password" to "Disabled". And the above post is correct that there is a finite number of password attempts before it will wipe all personal data from the handheld.

  5. #5
    MStrawder's Avatar
    MStrawder no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    1,825
    You check under Options > Security Options > General Settings to see if "Content Protection" is enabled?
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate, but that we are powerful beyond measure" ~ Marianne Williamson
    Current OS list by device
    How to upgrade your OS

  6. #6
    in4am0spun's Avatar
    in4am0spun no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ABA5D2
    Posts
    82
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #7
    in4am0spun's Avatar
    in4am0spun no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ABA5D2
    Posts
    82
    "Content protection" is now disabled... I have been toggling them on and off for days w/ battery pulls and the whole nine but nothing worked so far... Thinking if I wipeout handheld would that fix the problem... But I'm sure the back will have my phone protected n e ways
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  8. #8
    MStrawder's Avatar
    MStrawder no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    1,825
    Last one for me, but under Security > Options, do you have Lock Upon Holstering enabled?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  9. #9
    pikelon's Avatar
    pikelon no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    PIN/ID
    24b710f9
    Posts
    7
    option, password, disabled, 'menu' key, save and retype your password, press 'enter' key and close options.... get back with update!!

  10. #10
    ur561ad's Avatar
    ur561ad no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    132
    I think your baby mamma changed your password!
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  11. #11
    MStrawder's Avatar
    MStrawder no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    1,825
    Quote Originally Posted by pikelon View Post
    option, password, disabled, 'menu' key, save and retype your password, press 'enter' key and close options.... get back with update!!
    He stated that he had already disabled the password feature.
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate, but that we are powerful beyond measure" ~ Marianne Williamson
    Current OS list by device
    How to upgrade your OS

  12. #12
    in4am0spun's Avatar
    in4am0spun no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ABA5D2
    Posts
    82
    So far nothing... I was thinking of wiping out the device, or upgrade the device or downgrading it. Maybe I'm the unlucky one who caught this prob w/ the .250 beta version

  13. #13
    MStrawder's Avatar
    MStrawder no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    1,825
    At this point, that would be my advice. Backup your themes, calendar, etc., then do a quick wipe and re-install the .250 from Rogers. I've had 0 problems with this one so far.
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate, but that we are powerful beyond measure" ~ Marianne Williamson
    Current OS list by device
    How to upgrade your OS

  14. #14
    in4am0spun's Avatar
    in4am0spun no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ABA5D2
    Posts
    82
    I just hope the back-up remembers ALL but my pass...

  15. #15
    in4am0spun's Avatar
    in4am0spun no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ABA5D2
    Posts
    82
    Turn's out the beta version of .250 was missing the option of Option > Password. When I had set up the password it was via option > security > general security... But for whatever reason was unable to disable thru that... So I used jl_cmdr wiped it out reinstalled the italy verison of .250 and everything is fine now... Thanks for all who gave me some input
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •