Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

I have installed DM for my new Curve, but when I attach the device via ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    Steve-hose's Avatar
    Steve-hose no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    49

    Can't install new 8310

    Advertisement



    I have installed DM for my new Curve, but when I attach the device via USB, the New Hardware Wizard cannot install the drivers.

    I have uninstalled/reinstalled DM several times, also the phone OS on the comp, to no avail. My 8830 didn't have this problem, any suggestions? I am on AT&T, new 8310, Win XP. Thanks.

  2. #2
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    What are you exactly trying to do? I'm not sure what drivers you're try to get.

  3. #3
    Bla1ze's Avatar
    Bla1ze no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ya..NO!
    Posts
    206
    Try and download the USB and Modem drivers on their own, that way the hardware wizard doesn't need to install them.

  4. #4
    Steve-hose's Avatar
    Steve-hose no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    49
    Thanks I downloaded it and installed the drivers however it still gives me the "Cannot Install This Hardware" and "This hardware was not installed because the wizard could not find the necessary software" errors.

    Any suggestions? Very frustrating. Thanks
    Last edited by Steve-hose; 03-20-2008 at 10:27 AM.

  5. #5
    pda.teck's Avatar
    pda.teck no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    210DAC53
    Posts
    1,252
    A nasty problem to be sure. You are pluged directly into a USB port on the PC and not into a USB hub, right?

    WHat version of Windows are you running? Has to be XP, or Vista (Yuck)
    J. "Wyatt" Croom
    Blackberry 8520
    Spelling doesn’t determine your I.Q.
    (\_/)
    (0_0)
    (")-(")

  6. #6
    Steve-hose's Avatar
    Steve-hose no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    49
    Yes, directly into USB port, Win XP. About to lose my mind lol....

  7. #7
    Steve-hose's Avatar
    Steve-hose no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    49
    Does anyone know what directory the drivers are located so I could perhaps point the wizard to find them?

  8. #8
    pda.teck's Avatar
    pda.teck no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    210DAC53
    Posts
    1,252
    Sorry I am at work and don't have access to the CD, and I can't remember off the top of my head.
    J. "Wyatt" Croom
    Blackberry 8520
    Spelling doesn’t determine your I.Q.
    (\_/)
    (0_0)
    (")-(")

  9. #9
    Steve-hose's Avatar
    Steve-hose no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    49

    Update

    I tried another computer and it worked, I had DM running and when I plugged in the BB for the first time DM recognized it, no New Hardware Wizard. When I tried again on my comp, I followed the same steps but when I plugged it in it went to Hardware Wizard and DM didn't see it.

    Could this be because of previous install or some other lagging file? I have uninstalled DM several times including going thru registry for any old entries.

    Any clues as to why it's going to Hardware Wizard instead of DM recognizing the drivers?

    Thanks.

  10. #10
    markgallant's Avatar
    markgallant no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    430
    the directory for the drivers is c:\program files\common files\research In motion\USB Drivers

  11. #11
    Steve-hose's Avatar
    Steve-hose no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    49
    Thanks I pointed the Wizard to that file, it loaded the Blackberry handheld driver then another Wizard started but got stuck on "Rim composite device" and when i point to that directory again it says it cannot install. Arrrgghhhh

  12. #12
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Are you just trying to just get the PC to recognize the BB?

    What version of the DM do you have? Have you tried the options menu in the DM and attempted thew connection tab?

  13. #13
    Steve-hose's Avatar
    Steve-hose no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    49
    I can't get past the 2nd wizard coming up looking for a driver before saying it cannot install hardware. DM does not recognize it, the wizard pops up when i plug the phone into the USB port. I have version 4.2.2.14 from the cd. It worked on another ocmputer, not this one where I had my 8830. I did a clean unuinstall of everyyting including the registry, reinstalled, and no dice. ABout to go Postal.
    Last edited by Steve-hose; 03-20-2008 at 07:10 PM.

  14. #14
    markgallant's Avatar
    markgallant no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    430
    try downloading a copy of the device software to the pc and installing it and then try pointing the wizard to the directory i gave you before. When you download the handheld software it comes with the appropriate drivers as well.

    Also you could try creating a different user profile on windows and try it under that profile. Also make sure any firewalls and stuff are turned off.

  15. #15
    Steve-hose's Avatar
    Steve-hose no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    49
    I tried the device software, same thing, it finds the blackberry device driver then it cant find the Rim COmposite driver and says sorry no can install. I will try another profile, thanks.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •