Results 1 to 9 of 9

Hey guys -- got 2 things I need help with. I dropped my computer the ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    vindicatedx2x's Avatar
    vindicatedx2x no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    44

    Camera Help -- Freezes Phone

    Advertisement



    Hey guys -- got 2 things I need help with. I dropped my computer the other day and the hard drive became corrupt. I was able to salvage some data, but programs were the least of my worries. Could someone please direct me to the site link where I can download the Blackberry Manager and the latest OS?

    Also -- I had already taken PTT off my phone -- if I reinstall the software to my computer and plug in my phone, is it going to add PTT again? I hated that thing, and it gave me trouble trying to uninstall it a few times.

    THEN I dropped my phone a couple days ago (I know, gotta work on the butter fingers) -- Curve 8310. Since then, when I go to operate the camera (whether through the applications or the shortcut key on the right side of the phone), it freezes my phone with a black screen like its preparing the camera, but it never comes up. One time it told me to close other applications before running it... but still wouldn't let me back to the main screen. If I hold down top button for sleep mode and then turn it back on, it will bring up the main screen but won't respond to any keys I press. The ONLY way I have found to fix this is to do a battery pull. I can, however, access my photos -- just not use the camera application.

    HELP..?! Please!

    Chris

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Desktop Manager:

    https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...93E4F3BB068C22
    Suggest 4.3 multi language edition

    Latest OS

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/blog.php?b=86

    If the camera issue persists after an OS upgrade it is most likely hardware related.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    Kyo0tdemon's Avatar
    Kyo0tdemon no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    995
    To remove PTT from AT&T devices remove the following .cod's:
    net_rim_bb_phone_ptt_app.cod
    KnJCDE.cod

    Further, if you want to free up some memory, here's the thread to do that.

    http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...ee-memory.html

  4. #4
    vindicatedx2x's Avatar
    vindicatedx2x no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    44
    Thanks for all the help, guys! Still working on that whole camera aspect, though... how do you reinstall the OS on the phone?

  5. #5
    vindicatedx2x's Avatar
    vindicatedx2x no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    44
    Hey guys -- how do we do any OS upgrade, or reinstall the OS on our handhelds???

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    You will need to download the OS to your desktop and install/extract it. You will also need desktop manager. Connect your device and launch Desktop Manager and it should prompt you.

    Here is a step by step guide:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...lackberry.html
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    vindicatedx2x's Avatar
    vindicatedx2x no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    44
    Thanks for all your help. I reinstalled the OS and everything, and it's still not working -- just freezes up. If I hit the track ball after awhile, it says:

    "Could not start the camera. Close other applications and try opening the camera again."

  8. #8
    vindicatedx2x's Avatar
    vindicatedx2x no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    44
    Wow. Did a master reset, and still not working.

    Cingular refuses to send me a new phone.

  9. #9
    donkeykongkid's Avatar
    donkeykongkid no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1
    This happens to me too. And only after installing the latest os from ATT - 4.5

    Once in a while the camera will work however. But I haven't been able to figure out when it will and when it won't.

    Is there any new info on this?

    Thanks

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •