Results 1 to 9 of 9

Hi folks: can anyone help me to get rid of dis error Reload software: 552 ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    baba23's Avatar
    baba23 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    PIN/ID
    219095D5
    Posts
    13

    Post blackberry 8520 curve: Error Relaod software: 552

    Advertisement



    Hi folks: can anyone help me to get rid of dis error Reload software: 552
    ma bb suddenly went off & when i turn it on, dea is written on screen
    Reload software:552
    now its not working even i cant turn it off unless i take da battery out.
    kinldy help me on dis

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Hello baba and welcome to PinStack......sorry you're having issues with your device! I've moved this thread to a more appropriate forum so it will get more traffic.

    You are going to need to reload the software on your device. If you connect it to the PC with a USB cable is Desktop Manager able to recognize the device?

  3. #3
    PapaMag's Avatar
    PapaMag no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    PIN/ID
    Nadda
    Posts
    5,722
    I am hunting for the post, but a long time ago here on the stack there was a post that also gave instructions on reloading with the battery pulled. I know this sounds crazy but I did this with my pearl a few times when I was fighting the same issue. My device would not function including the turning it off but crazy enough you may give this a try

    Samsung Galaxy S4
    Asus Nexus 7
    Nook Color







  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    You can always go to the Technical Support Blog link in my signature. Most everything you need is there.

    I think this is the link you were talking about, but it's going to be a little dated. Needs to be updated for DM 6.

  5. #5
    PapaMag's Avatar
    PapaMag no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    PIN/ID
    Nadda
    Posts
    5,722
    ok I found what I was looking for check it out here

    Samsung Galaxy S4
    Asus Nexus 7
    Nook Color







  6. #6
    PapaMag's Avatar
    PapaMag no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    PIN/ID
    Nadda
    Posts
    5,722
    different one Roger but maybe between the two we can get this solved

    Samsung Galaxy S4
    Asus Nexus 7
    Nook Color







  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    I think we might be able to use BBSAK here, too.

  8. #8
    baba23's Avatar
    baba23 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    PIN/ID
    219095D5
    Posts
    13

    Post reload software: 552

    Quote Originally Posted by RogerG View Post
    Hello baba and welcome to PinStack......sorry you're having issues with your device! I've moved this thread to a more appropriate forum so it will get more traffic.

    You are going to need to reload the software on your device. If you connect it to the PC with a USB cable is Desktop Manager able to recognize the device?
    i resolved da issue via desktop manager, thanks

  9. #9
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Good deal. Glad you're back up and running.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •