Results 1 to 12 of 12

I've been having this issue for a week now. Everytime my phone resets or I ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    EthanCole's Avatar
    EthanCole Guest

    BBM New Pin notification when BB Resets

    Advertisement



    I've been having this issue for a week now. Everytime my phone resets or I do a battery pull and open up my BBM a pop up saying:"You've switched to a new device. Do you want to update your contacts about it? Otherwise you contacts list will be erased."

    Does anyone have any ideas on why this would come up?

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    By any chance did you recently upgrade your device operating system?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    EthanCole's Avatar
    EthanCole Guest
    I have the latest that VZW provides and just switched devices.

  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Well i assume that you replied yes at least once after the device swap, that should have done it. Otherwise we might assume that there is a corrupt file someplace. Here are a few suggestions.

    1. Use DM to back up your device. Then delete the BBM contacts data base and reset the device. Use advanced restore to replace the data on the device.

    2. Assuming you have your device operating system installed on your desktop. Use application loader to remove BBM from your device. Reboot and restore the application, then use advanced restore to restore your BBM contact list (dont forget to back up first)
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #5
    Mosdefin's Avatar
    Mosdefin no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    55
    I had the same thing happen to me also when I turned up the security options. I haven't been able to back up my device properly since. I keep getting errors when backup reaches the tsl otions. I tried to clear out the tsl options as some other suggested, but that wasn't much help to the situation.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    Acrylic's Avatar
    Acrylic no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    ASK4IT
    Posts
    2
    Same thing happened to me once I set the security options.

  7. #7
    JRBaker's Avatar
    JRBaker no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3
    I'm having the same/a similar issue. Ever since I upgraded to 4.5 BBMessenger has given me the "switched to a new device" error. Sometimes it happens after reboots, sometimes it's in the middle of a conversation. It's getting really frustrating and I can't seem to fix it. Here's what I've done so far:

    1. Uninstalled/reinstalled BBMessenger - this didn't help
    2. Gone into Advanced backup settings in the Desktop Manager and cleared the BBMessenger database - this didn't help either
    Is there any way this could be a server-side issue? Anyone have other suggestions on steps to resolve this?

    BTW, I have a Pearl 8130 in case we're trying to establish patterns.

  8. #8
    EthanCole's Avatar
    EthanCole Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by JRBaker View Post
    I'm having the same/a similar issue. Ever since I upgraded to 4.5 BBMessenger has given me the "switched to a new device" error. Sometimes it happens after reboots, sometimes it's in the middle of a conversation. It's getting really frustrating and I can't seem to fix it. Here's what I've done so far:

    1. Uninstalled/reinstalled BBMessenger - this didn't help
    2. Gone into Advanced backup settings in the Desktop Manager and cleared the BBMessenger database - this didn't help either
    Is there any way this could be a server-side issue? Anyone have other suggestions on steps to resolve this?

    BTW, I have a Pearl 8130 in case we're trying to establish patterns.

    just readd everyone manually. delete everyone on your messenger (write down the pins first lol) and then take off and reload bbm.

    Thats how i got it to go away.

  9. #9
    JRBaker's Avatar
    JRBaker no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3
    PTR, I've done what you suggested, that was part of my troubleshooting steps I listed in my post. That's what I end up doing every time I have the issue, but the problem is that it KEEPS HAPPENING. It's not a one time thing; something's wrong here.

  10. #10
    EthanCole's Avatar
    EthanCole Guest
    Woooopps, just noticed that.

    In that case just return it unless you've already uninstalled the software and downloaded to have a fresh start.

    yeah thats all i got. lol

  11. #11
    JRBaker's Avatar
    JRBaker no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3
    I don't think that's the answer here either, because it was working fine before I upgraded it to 4.5. This must have something to do with the software, not the hardware.

  12. #12
    EthanCole's Avatar
    EthanCole Guest
    thats what i meant by uninstalling and reloading the software... it must have a messed up file on the one you had loaded to your blackberry.
    Last edited by EthanCole; 12-08-2008 at 03:02 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •