Results 1 to 8 of 8

This maybe a stupid question but what happens if you were to put for example ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    jakesmobile's Avatar
    jakesmobile no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    53

    Question BB Software question

    Advertisement



    This maybe a stupid question but what happens if you were to put for example T-Mobile Blackberry software on a AT&T blackberry?

  2. #2
    kutrack1's Avatar
    kutrack1 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    28

    Re: BB Software question

    are you talking about the handheld OS software?

  3. #3
    c3po25's Avatar
    c3po25 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    212D4E69
    Posts
    323

    Re: BB Software question

    Quote Originally Posted by jakesmobile View Post
    This maybe a stupid question but what happens if you were to put for example T-Mobile Blackberry software on a AT&T blackberry?
    if you are talking about the Handheld software, it can be done and nothing bad will happen to your BB. if you do a search there should be thread that guide you thru it. You can use any carrier's OS as long as it's made for your model of phone. hope this helps


  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: BB Software question

    Corrrect. You can install virtually ANY carriers 8300 operating system on your 8300 with no problems. You will need to delete the vendor.alx file in order for your phone to recognize other carriers software but otherwise you are good to go!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #5
    VZDubtk's Avatar
    VZDubtk no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,436

    Re: BB Software question

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Corrrect. You can install virtually ANY carriers 8300 operating system on your 8300 with no problems. You will need to delete the vendor.alx file in order for your phone to recognize other carriers software but otherwise you are good to go!
    Exactly what GaryF stated in the above post. You should be fine and experience no issues at all. The only you cannot do is putting s 8300 os onto a 8310
    I Unlock All Mobile Devices, questions just ask

  6. #6
    jakesmobile's Avatar
    jakesmobile no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    53

    Re: BB Software question

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Corrrect. You can install virtually ANY carriers 8300 operating system on your 8300 with no problems. You will need to delete the vendor.alx file in order for your phone to recognize other carriers software but otherwise you are good to go!
    So would this unlock the device? Or give it the different carrier thems? The reason I ask is our company was bought out by AT&T and all of our current blackberry users wont be able to use their devices with a AT&T rate plan.

  7. #7
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: BB Software question

    The Handheld (OS)software is not Carrier specific. It is device specific. So you can install any OS on any phone as long as its for your model phone.

    That will NOT unlock the phone. It will not give you different themes either.

    I'm confused though...if you were bought by AT&T why would that stop you from using your phones? Are they making you switch? What is your current carrier?

  8. #8
    jakesmobile's Avatar
    jakesmobile no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by reddog187 View Post
    The Handheld (OS)software is not Carrier specific. It is device specific. So you can install any OS on any phone as long as its for your model phone.

    That will NOT unlock the phone. It will not give you different themes either.

    I'm confused though...if you were bought by AT&T why would that stop you from using your phones? Are they making you switch? What is your current carrier?
    Cellularone/Dobson is who I work for and we are merging with AT&T. As of right now no they won't force anyone to change plans but say in the future if it comes down to it, I'd like to be able to use for example my curve with my employee AT&T sim card.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •