Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

I'm new to the blackberry world having purchased a Cingular 8300 about a month ago. ... BlackBerry Curve forum

the_monk no está en línea Stack level 1

Thumbs up BB8300 - Did you know it is waterproof?

Advertisement

I'm new to the blackberry world having purchased a Cingular 8300 about a month ago. After learning the menu stucture and getting familiar with the slightly small keyboard, I now love my Curve.

So, let me set scene. My 9 yr old is at a neighborhood kids b-day party. They have a two-story high inflatable water slide. My 4 yr old boy wanted to go down it. Well, he made it all the way to top, then chickened out. So, here I am, at the top of this thing. I did what any self-respecting child-like father does, I threw the shirt and sunglasses off the side and did a header down the slide. I must say I got huge air and had near perfect form. Right into the thigh-deep pool at the bottom.

I spend probably a minute struggling to get out of the collapsing bounce-house-full-of-water before I get drilled by the next over-zealous sliding 9 yr old. I finally get out, collect the 4 yr old from the gaggle of boys. Spend another minute getting my shirt and flip flops, and realize that my blackberry is in my pocket.

D'oh.

Well, it's now probably 2 or 3 minutes after my dip. I dig it out of my pocket. The screen is dark. No flashing led. So I rip out the battery. I JUST bought it like 32 days ago.

So, I shake it out as hard as possible. Let it sit around for an hour, shake it some more. Do this a few times. By now, I can no longer stand the suspense. So, I throw the battery in. It starts to fire up, then shuts down. Well, I figure I'm now out $500 to replace it, so I try again. This time, it actually starts up. The backlight is flickering off an on, but it's on.