Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Is it just me or are you all having this issue? It takes a good ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    BB_5000's Avatar
    BB_5000 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    25

    Battery Pull - 4-6 minutes!

    Advertisement



    Is it just me or are you all having this issue?

    It takes a good 4-6 minutes to re-boot after a cold battery pull.

    No 3rd party Aps and around 6 email accounts.


    115mb free on a cold reset.


    Any feedback guys?


    OS v.101

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    My 8330 (Alltel, .77) took 3 min and 15 secs. - that seems excessive to me but that's what it takes with 19.361mb free memory. I have a LOT of stuff on mine.

    Also, it's comparing apple to oranges but if that makes you feel better....

    What you probably need is more 8900 stats to really get a feel for it.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #3
    mikedoan's Avatar
    mikedoan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    179
    my Bold takes at least that long (25Mb free)
    BB 7100g (R.I.P.)
    BB Pearl 8100 (R.I.P.)
    BB BOLD 9000 (on the shelf)
    BB STORM (R.I.P.)

    iPhone4

  4. #4
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    My 8120 takes 4 minutes.
    Last edited by EricaJ1073; 01-09-2009 at 12:10 AM.


  5. #5
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    Quote Originally Posted by BB_5000 View Post

    115mb free on a cold reset


    OS v.101
    wow

    storm takes that long too
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    yeah the Storm and the Javelin take a little longer than other BBs to boot. Go figure.

  7. #7
    ripvtech's Avatar
    ripvtech no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    23D6EE8B
    Posts
    89
    My 8320 took about 45 seconds when I first got it, after an OS upgrade it now takes 4-6 minutes. I have a ton of space left, samething happened to my brother's phone.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    mizmellyjelly's Avatar
    mizmellyjelly no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    316
    okay I thought it was just me. My old Curve (8310) was the same and I was hoping the Javelin's reboot loading time would be quicker but it's the same as well. Never less than 5 minutes.
    ..miz melly jelly™..
    Carrier: Rogers
    Device: rooted HTC Inspire 4G
    ROM: Virtuous Unity v1.27.0 with Sense 3

    TwitterGoogle+

  9. #9
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Wow, all of you are doing well, my Bold takes close to 35 minutes......LMAO....Just kidding.

    Actually I haven't timed it but I would guess about a minute or two. It does seem faster than my 8310.


  10. #10
    mizmellyjelly's Avatar
    mizmellyjelly no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    316
    Quote Originally Posted by archer6 View Post
    Wow, all of you are doing well, my Bold takes close to 35 minutes......LMAO....Just kidding.
    I WAS GOING TO SAY............

    The 5 minute wait drives me insane...how on earth could you put up with 35????

    One time I had an issue with my WLM so I called technical support, and he had me reboot the phone twice. Those were the longest 5 minute waits ever. The tech rep was so impatient too....kept asking "is it loading yet?.......okay now?...... not yet?"
    ..miz melly jelly™..
    Carrier: Rogers
    Device: rooted HTC Inspire 4G
    ROM: Virtuous Unity v1.27.0 with Sense 3

    TwitterGoogle+

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    lol and youd think being a tech support rep he would KNOW that BB take a while to boot up.

  12. #12
    mizmellyjelly's Avatar
    mizmellyjelly no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    316
    Yeah! On the first reboot, I even asked him while we were waiting (just making conversation to kill time), "is it normal for a blackberry to take this long when rebooting?" and his response was, "Oh yes. It's like rebooting a computer. A blackberry device contains a lot of data so it usually takes a few minutes to kick in to gather all the information before it loads."


    But I guess on the second reboot there was too much silence so the 5 min seemed longer to him. After knagging if the phone loaded yet, he bothered to comment, "Wow....that's pretty long!" and it wasn't even 3 minutes yet....

    I guess it's understandable since he's a representative and he has to tend other customers. But like you said, you'd think he'd KNOW the reboot time better.
    ..miz melly jelly™..
    Carrier: Rogers
    Device: rooted HTC Inspire 4G
    ROM: Virtuous Unity v1.27.0 with Sense 3

    TwitterGoogle+

  13. #13
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Now that you Stackers got my curiosity up, I just had to time it in order to see if my guess was way off, or close. Amazing! Finally I have a Bold that does something right...heh!

    Mine takes exactly 2 minutes to boot up. Also I should mention that I do not have any third party software on it yet, as I have decided to wait until I'm completely convinced that it's stable, which it has been thus far with .210.

    WoooHooo... mine passed at least one test... wonders never cease....


  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806

  15. #15
    bajanbastard's Avatar
    bajanbastard no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    510
    Blackberry 8900 OS 4.6.1.109. Time from soft reset to full reboot 1 minute, 47.7 seconds with 141.2 file free.
    Device history: 8100 > 8320 > 8900 & 9530. Keep crackin'

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •