Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

I have VZ 8330. I have the backlight setting set to DO NOT automatically adjust ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    armenvzw's Avatar
    armenvzw no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    142

    Question backlight still dimming on its own!

    Advertisement



    I have VZ 8330. I have the backlight setting set to DO NOT automatically adjust but it still does it i find. Sometimes its full brightness and sometimes its not.
    What is going on?
    some kinda bug?
    VZW STORM 9530

  2. #2
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Not exactly sure...you have the Auto Dim option turned off? Do you have the backlight turned up all the way?

  3. #3
    armenvzw's Avatar
    armenvzw no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    142
    Yup its at 100% and auto is off. Its very strange. Dunno thanks for reply.

  4. #4
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Here do a favor for me...

    Go some where bright or stick your BB under a light source. Then put your thumb over the status LED in the upper right hand corner. What does the LCD do? Does it change?

    What OS are you running on the device?

  5. #5
    armenvzw's Avatar
    armenvzw no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    142
    It did nothing. The keyboard isint lit up all the time either. I'm running v4.3.0.127 factory installed on verizon 8330

  6. #6
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Ok, if it did nothing then the Auto Dim function is turned off. Then you shouldn't be seeing any difference in the brightness of the LCD. Is it still happening?

    As for the keyboard backlight, it will only light up if the ambient light around isn't enough to see the keyboard.

  7. #7
    armenvzw's Avatar
    armenvzw no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    142
    Well that answers my question about the keyboard light. The lcd hasent done it lately. It only does it once and a while. Thanks.

  8. #8
    javatyger's Avatar
    javatyger no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    U5W15H
    Posts
    645
    Yeah I still have the same issue too with my LCD. I also have the setting to not auto-adjust on my Curve from TELUS and same thing happens - really weird that it'll still auto-adjust when you ask it not too. :-/
    ~via BB8330 (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    armenvzw's Avatar
    armenvzw no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    142
    Yea its aggravating. Its doin it right now. I wish it would stay 100%!!!

  10. #10
    p00rcoll3geboi's Avatar
    p00rcoll3geboi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    2474A786
    Posts
    110
    Isn't making your back light 100% bad for your screen? It normally decreases the lifetime of your screen. I'm on 50% and don't even find that very dim

  11. #11
    Threekings's Avatar
    Threekings no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    102
    I have a client with the same issue. He wants a new BB because of it.

  12. #12
    javatyger's Avatar
    javatyger no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    U5W15H
    Posts
    645
    Tell him that's just how it is. The device is going to dim regardless of the setting by the looks of it. I work for a cell company and I wouldn't do it since I know he'll be back later with the same issue.
    ~via BB8330 (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    AFuentesJr's Avatar
    AFuentesJr no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    46
    I just recently upgraded to TIM OS 4.5 on my AT&T Pearl 8100 and I'm now having the same problem...any suggestions?

  14. #14
    jonecat's Avatar
    jonecat no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    29
    I have this same problem on my Verizon 8330 under both OS 4.3 and 4.5, I would love it if this was fixed soon, it drives me nuts.

  15. #15
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    I'm not sure what to say guys, it just must be a bug in your OS?

    I'm one for seeing the glass half full though, if you guys get use to the feature it will save you on battery life though. It will usual extend it quite noticeably. Just my opinion.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •