Results 1 to 11 of 11

I'm on a business trip to Canada. I have a Tmobile Curve and I was ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    soeun's Avatar
    soeun no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    242E18DE
    Posts
    9

    Avoid Roaming Charges with Curve?

    Advertisement



    I'm on a business trip to Canada. I have a Tmobile Curve and I was sitting in the hotel lobby and I turned off my mobile network connection and turned on my wi fi connection and then it says "Staybridge" for my connection, but then a minute later it says "Tmobile - Staybridge" with the UMA so I was like wow cool and then I decided to call home and it was able to go through just fine so I'm wondering am I still getting Roaming charges even though it says "T-Mobile - Staybridge" on my phone instead of Rogers?

    Help a BB Newb out please!

    BTW I love this phone. Never going back to windows mobile!
    Last edited by soeun; 02-12-2008 at 05:45 AM.

  2. #2
    lauren25's Avatar
    lauren25 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,107

    Re: Avoid Roaming Charges with Curve?

    I would contact your service provider and make sure that you won't get any roaming charges and how to avoid them.
    ~Lauren

  3. #3
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569

    Re: Avoid Roaming Charges with Curve?

    If the wireless portion of the device is off, then you should be safe since the call is traveling over UMA as a VOIP call back to the states. There have been multiple threads about people doing this in other countries. You will still get international charges if you make one to the same country you are in when you travel outside of the US. T-Mobile's official stance on this (as we were explained) is "No Comment" lol. We took that to mean that they knew about it but didn't support it, encourage, or discourage the use.

    Zo

  4. #4
    soeun's Avatar
    soeun no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    242E18DE
    Posts
    9

    Re: Avoid Roaming Charges with Curve?

    I just talked to T Mobile and they say I will be charged for Roaming because I picked up a Canadian IP while I'm connected to UMA? I don't know because the Rep I was talking to, didn't sound too confident on what she said. Anybody else share to shed some light on this? I really don't want to get Roaming charges while using the UMA feature.

  5. #5
    mjkone's Avatar
    mjkone no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    37

    Re: Avoid Roaming Charges with Curve?

    You will not get roaming charges on UMA at all.However, if you do not have the hotspot@home feature, it will use minutes from your plan.


    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    soeun's Avatar
    soeun no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    242E18DE
    Posts
    9

    Re: Avoid Roaming Charges with Curve?

    Quote Originally Posted by mjkone View Post
    You will not get roaming charges on UMA at all.However, if you do not have the hotspot@home feature, it will use minutes from your plan.


    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Do you have anything to back up that claim? I really don't wanna take that chance of getting roaming charges. I will greatly appreciate it!

  7. #7
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by soeun View Post
    I just talked to T Mobile and they say I will be charged for Roaming because I picked up a Canadian IP while I'm connected to UMA? I really don't want to get Roaming charges while using the UMA feature.
    -----
    I would urge you to call back, ask for a supervisor to clarify the situation.

    In addition I would log onto your account on T-MO's web site. You will find lot's of useful info there.

  8. #8
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945

    Re: Avoid Roaming Charges with Curve?

    The BlackBerry Guru

    [x] My Minds Eye - Life Behind The Lens Of A BlackBerry
    [x] Pinstack Blog
    [x] Twitter

  9. #9
    mjkone's Avatar
    mjkone no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    37

    Re: Avoid Roaming Charges with Curve?

    We are doing this at my company to reduce international calling rates. If you are on UMA, no roaming applies because cell towers aren't being used. It treats it as if you were in your home. Some hotels offer wifi but block the ports which would allow the UMA connection.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    mjkone's Avatar
    mjkone no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    37

    Re: Avoid Roaming Charges with Curve?

    Let me put it this way, my account manager at T-Mobile says that this is not something they are advertising (probably because they stand to lose a lot of money in roaming charges). We have been doing this for several months while deciding if we want a corporate contract with T-Mobile.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    soeun's Avatar
    soeun no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    242E18DE
    Posts
    9

    Re: Avoid Roaming Charges with Curve?

    Thanks a lot for all the help. Much appreciated!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •