Results 1 to 13 of 13

I went to mobile.blackberry.com to see if any new cool stuff was up for grabs, ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    mrnrandazzo's Avatar
    mrnrandazzo no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    75

    at&t users, bbmaps on curve?

    Advertisement



    I went to mobile.blackberry.com to see if any new cool stuff was up for grabs, and I noticed that bbmaps is not available for at&t users. Is there any way around this and is it even worth trying. I currently have telenav & google maps on my bb curve, but I would like to know if bbmaps is better and if it can be used on an at&t curve. Thanx in advance.
    Mr. Nick

  2. #2
    Tate002's Avatar
    Tate002 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    248

    Re: at&t users, bbmaps on curve?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~this mornig I purchased the new curve. I had the 8800 and I had BB Maps. It worked very well. I will try and load it on my curve.

  3. #3
    yamiR6's Avatar
    yamiR6 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    19

    Re: at&t users, bbmaps on curve?

    If I go to www.blackberry.com/maps to dl the app. The site never loads. I can load the page in Opera Mini beta, but the browser is not supported for the dl. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    Tate002's Avatar
    Tate002 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    248

    Re: at&t users, bbmaps on curve?

    that is true! I just tried to DL it with my curve. No results... that sucks...

  5. #5
    kjbmax77's Avatar
    kjbmax77 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    139

    Re: at&t users, bbmaps on curve?

    One way I know to work around this is to do a backup from a BB that has it installed and then restore to the curve, I know that method works for sure. Will look for some other alternates.

  6. #6
    russcrypto's Avatar
    russcrypto no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    369

    Re: at&t users, bbmaps on curve?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    AT&T has BB Maps blocked so that you will use their subscription based Telenav. If you go into the Platform.alx (or is it the Blackberry.alx) file of the OS, you can unblock BB Maps.

  7. #7
    russcrypto's Avatar
    russcrypto no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    369

    Re: at&t users, bbmaps on curve?

    Make that the LBS.alx file.
    Russcrypto

    Welcome to the Stacks!

    New to BlackBerry or Pinstack? Please Read:

    Forum Rules and Guidelines

    Click here to email me.

  8. #8
    Tate002's Avatar
    Tate002 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    248

    Re: at&t users, bbmaps on curve?

    is there a step by step listing for doing that?

  9. #9
    Tate002's Avatar
    Tate002 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    248

    Re: at&t users, bbmaps on curve?

    On desktop mgr i tranferred all 3rd part software... guess what yeppp BB Maps is on my 8300 and it works fine. Only thing is i'm not able to start GPS... i guess because I don't have on the 8300... lol

  10. #10
    mdys's Avatar
    mdys no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    74

    Re: at&t users, bbmaps on curve?

    Telenav and GoogleMaps are waaay better, but if you really want to go to the trouble to add BBMaps here's a link:

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...erry_maps.html

  11. #11
    Tate002's Avatar
    Tate002 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    248

    Re: at&t users, bbmaps on curve?

    Telenav is really good I do prefer it over BB Maps

  12. #12
    mrnrandazzo's Avatar
    mrnrandazzo no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    75

    Re: at&t users, bbmaps on curve?

    Thanx for your suggestions and comments. I already have telenav & google maps in my curve. I guess ill stick with those.

  13. #13
    sickchilly's Avatar
    sickchilly no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    20CFA98A
    Posts
    55

    Re: at&t users, bbmaps on curve?

    Stop messing around with trying to download BB Maps and all that. It's already on your devices, just hidden. All you have to do is open the LBS.alx file with notepad and search for vendor code "102" and delete it. Save the file. Now reconnect your BB to DM and open AL.
    -T

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •