Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

I'm thinking of switching to At&t and getting the 8300 (Amazon has a pretty good ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    rudolph sche's Avatar
    rudolph sche no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    23df36e3
    Posts
    38

    At&t, 3g and the 8300?

    Advertisement



    I'm thinking of switching to At&t and getting the 8300 (Amazon has a pretty good deal). My question is does the 8300 support At&t's 3g network and is it better (faster) than TMo? I currently have the Pearl with Tmo. Any thoughts?
    Last edited by rudolph sche; 08-26-2007 at 02:10 PM.

  2. #2
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: At&t, 3g and the 8300?

    At&t BB's use the EDGE network now. They don't run at 3G speeds, but some EDGE speeds get faster.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: At&t, 3g and the 8300?

    Sorry, should read "some edge speeds got faster than they used to be, its still not as fast as 3G though."

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    crupp's Avatar
    crupp no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    99

    Re: At&t, 3g and the 8300?

    the term is actually UMTS and no the BB curve does not support the faster speeds
    Having the latest electronics, not priceless

  5. #5
    rudolph sche's Avatar
    rudolph sche no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    23df36e3
    Posts
    38

    Re: At&t, 3g and the 8300?

    Quote Originally Posted by crupp
    the term is actually UMTS and no the BB curve does not support the faster speeds
    So is it the network, or do all BB not support UMTS?

  6. #6
    kashfr's Avatar
    kashfr no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    24048BEC
    Posts
    30

    Re: At&t, 3g and the 8300?

    There are no BB's out there that support UMTS at this time...

  7. #7
    jscottbarnes's Avatar
    jscottbarnes no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    No-More
    Posts
    1,273

    Re: At&t, 3g and the 8300?

    Nope... no 3G - but, a day prior to the release of the iPhony (couldn't resist), at&t upgraded the EDGE network... it was in response to a lot of whining about no 3G capability with their new $600 toy... so all EDGE capable phones have benefited from that lil bump in speed...

    but, it was less than demonstrable in my opinion... but, some speed is better than NO speed, eh?


    ------------
    ~ jscott
    iPhone 3G & BOLD



  8. #8
    blackninja's Avatar
    blackninja no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    spam=no
    Posts
    1,322

    Re: At&t, 3g and the 8300?

    if you want a 3g bb you're gonna have to go over to sprint or verizon.

  9. #9
    rambo47's Avatar
    rambo47 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    16

    Re: At&t, 3g and the 8300?

    Not even the 8830 "World Phone" does 3G. BB hasn't released a model that does. Yet.

  10. #10
    rudolph sche's Avatar
    rudolph sche no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    23df36e3
    Posts
    38

    Re: At&t, 3g and the 8300?

    Quote Originally Posted by rambo47
    Not even the 8830 "World Phone" does 3G. BB hasn't released a model that does. Yet.
    So from the posts that I've read, there seems to be little advantage from switching from Tmo to At&t (coverage is eqaul in my area) other than Amazon is running a good deal now. I realize that Tmo's 8320 will have WiFi soon, yet I always have my laptop at work or on trips.

    I guess there is always Tmo's WiFi calling option but I rarely use my minutes anyway. Am I missing anything important?

  11. #11
    toymachinejg's Avatar
    toymachinejg no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24232f19
    Posts
    309

    Re: At&t, 3g and the 8300?

    tmobile is cheaper

  12. #12
    rudolph sche's Avatar
    rudolph sche no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    23df36e3
    Posts
    38

    Re: At&t, 3g and the 8300?

    Quote Originally Posted by toymachinejg
    tmobile is cheaper
    Do you mean their data plan is cheaper? OR data and minites?

  13. #13
    toymachinejg's Avatar
    toymachinejg no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24232f19
    Posts
    309

    Re: At&t, 3g and the 8300?

    the data im not sure about the minutes i have a minutes and mail plan i get unlimited internet/emails,unlimited texts and 1000 anytime minutes for 59.99

  14. #14
    akg's Avatar
    akg
    akg no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    240EB50D
    Posts
    45

    Re: At&t, 3g and the 8300?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ Tmo data is cheaper than AT&T.I'm on AT&T and paying $45/month for a BES data plan.

  15. #15
    blackninja's Avatar
    blackninja no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    spam=no
    Posts
    1,322

    Re: At&t, 3g and the 8300?

    Quote Originally Posted by rambo47
    Not even the 8830 "World Phone" does 3G. BB hasn't released a model that does. Yet.
    Blackberry has been doing 3g since the 7130e (EVDO on Verizon). They currently don't have a GSM 3g model.

    Supercharged Blackberry 7130e comes to Verizon (article Nov. 21st 2005)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •