Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35

Hi All- For anyone on T-Mobile running the 8320 w/ v4.2.2.171, you may run into ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    dj flyy's Avatar
    dj flyy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    244ac444
    Posts
    231

    Lightbulb "App Error 523"

    Advertisement



    Hi All-

    For anyone on T-Mobile running the 8320 w/ v4.2.2.171, you may run into a problem when re-booting the device.

    How will you know?

    A white screen will appear, with texting in the middle reading "APP ERROR 523" and the option to reset underneath it. If you have the same problem I did, no matter how many times you hit the reset button, it will return to the error screen.

    The CS rep that I spoke to told me to plug the phone in to DM and restore the operating system. It may recognize the device in Connection Settings, but not the main screen of DM. (If so, continue on reading!)

    *Be sure to install the newest software update: http://www.t-mobile.com/bbupgrade/

    Remove the battery from the phone, and plug it back into the computer w/ USB. Right click the "START" at the bottom toolbar, and go to "Explore". Make your way down the left and click Program Files. Go to "Common Files" and go to "Research In Motion", then open "AppLoader". Once that folder opens, Double-click "Loader.exe"...

    Run through the proper steps in Application Loader, and when the process on the computer's end is done, insert the battery again.

    It may take 5-20 minutes for the phone to get back up and running again, and once it does be sure to re-send any service books.

    Hope none of you run into the problems I had today!

    dj flyy
    dj flyy

  2. #2
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: "App Error 523"

    wow! that's a new one dj! haven't heard of any new 8320 users getting the 523 yet...

    did you install anything new on it in the past day or so?

  3. #3
    dj flyy's Avatar
    dj flyy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    244ac444
    Posts
    231

    Re: "App Error 523"

    Quote Originally Posted by cherrichiodo
    wow! that's a new one dj! haven't heard of any new 8320 users getting the 523 yet...

    did you install anything new on it in the past day or so?
    i'll admit i OTA'd an iPhone theme

    but that's all. deleted it right after i put it on.
    dj flyy

  4. #4
    obsidian's Avatar
    obsidian no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    2162b5fd
    Posts
    98

    Re: "App Error 523"

    So how do you like your curve? I just got my gold one, finally.
    Angry.
    Black.
    Berry.
    User.

  5. #5
    dj flyy's Avatar
    dj flyy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    244ac444
    Posts
    231

    Re: "App Error 523"

    Quote Originally Posted by obsidian
    So how do you like your curve? I just got my gold one, finally.
    Aside this little dance with danger, I love it.

    I'm coming from an 8100, and I'm still getting used to the full QWERTY keybaord. I think the Wi-Fi is a great option, though to admit it, I think I still use the data connection even when I'm home just because I'm too lazy to swap it to wifi.

    The only thing i'd change i think is upgrading internal memory... there's a thread about it somewhere but the 64mb could easily be 256mb if not more - the technology is there!

    How do you like yours? Is it your first device?
    dj flyy

  6. #6
    bglawrence's Avatar
    bglawrence no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2746CB17
    Posts
    312

    Re: "App Error 523"

    he dj...you dont have to swap bewteen edge and wifi...just set your prefernce to Wifi..and when you get home the phone will automatically use that signal

  7. #7
    dj flyy's Avatar
    dj flyy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    244ac444
    Posts
    231
    Quote Originally Posted by bglawrence
    he dj...you don't have to swap between edge and wifi...just set your preference to Wifi..and when you get home the phone will automatically use that signal

    So under my network settings, it says wifi preferred. In the browser options, what browser should I have it set on? Internet or Wi-Fi?

  8. #8
    jzarowitz's Avatar
    jzarowitz no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    NexsOne
    Posts
    724

    Re: "App Error 523"

    i just got the 523... :-( phone is endlessly restarting... this has been a bad day for me with tmo...
    I'm a born again Androider

  9. #9
    dj flyy's Avatar
    dj flyy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    244ac444
    Posts
    231

    Re: "App Error 523"

    Quote Originally Posted by jzarowitz View Post
    i just got the 523... :-( phone is endlessly restarting... this has been a bad day for me with tmo...

    was just out a dinner, reached for the phone and App 523 was back.

    lordy lordy
    dj flyy

  10. #10
    jjaustin77's Avatar
    jjaustin77 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    14

    Re: "App Error 523"

    I got this yesterday on the 8310 during my upgrade to the latest OS. At the same time, I tried to install the OS, remove the PTT.cod file, unlock the other themes, and add the bPhone theme located here: http://rogersmj.com/tech/blackberry/bphone/ . When I did, I got a 507 error, the BB kept going, and then I got the same 523 error. I freaked, but clicked the the reset, and it continued the install. When it finished, I removed the theme, and then re-installed it. Since then, no problems. I don't know if it is because I just removed the PTT.cod without modifying the .alx file, or if it was the OS, or that theme. Like I said, to many variables at once. My device has been fine since though. So maybe that will give you a bit of hope. Best of luck!

    -JJ

  11. #11
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: "App Error 523"

    dj flyy -- gotta reload the OS

  12. #12
    dj flyy's Avatar
    dj flyy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    244ac444
    Posts
    231

    Re: "App Error 523"

    Quote Originally Posted by jzarowitz View Post
    i just got the 523... :-( phone is endlessly restarting... this has been a bad day for me with tmo...

    did following my directions work for you?

    i just had no problem fixing my phone because of my own directions..

    how'd it all work out?
    dj flyy

  13. #13
    LHansenZip21's Avatar
    LHansenZip21 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: "App Error 523"

    PLEASE HELP! I keep getting App 523 Error and hitting reset and it just keeps going back to that. I dont get what people are talking about on here about resetting the OS (what does that even mean?!) I am not technologically inclined and need step by step help on this! I have t-mobile if that helps, but I am about to go crazy without having a phone all day!:cry:

  14. #14
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: "App Error 523"

    Quote Originally Posted by LHansenZip21 View Post
    PLEASE HELP! I keep getting App 523 Error and hitting reset and it just keeps going back to that. I dont get what people are talking about on here about resetting the OS (what does that even mean?!) I am not technologically inclined and need step by step help on this! I have t-mobile if that helps, but I am about to go crazy without having a phone all day!:cry:
    did you follow the steps in the original post?

    also try
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...rade_your.html

    welcome to pinstack

  15. #15
    Dimndbk's Avatar
    Dimndbk no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    59

    Re: "App Error 523"

    I started getting this error after OTAing a theme that everybody has been looking for on the Curve. Once I deleted the theme (and reloaded the OS) I don't get the error anymore. Hope somebody can figure out what is causing it, I would really like to have the theme back.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •