Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 44

Originally Posted by skp@avs.ca I agree....it just doesn't work!! I have both an 8800 (where ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #16
    officer2701's Avatar
    officer2701 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    2405E989
    Posts
    13

    Re: Anyone having luck with their voice dialing???

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by skp@avs.ca
    I agree....it just doesn't work!! I have both an 8800 (where the voice dialing works perfectly) and an 8300 where it doesn't work at all. And it is not just my 8300, but several friends who recently bought the 8300 are facing the same problem. Can someone help???
    Have them try this, I found this is what works best for me, When the promt say's "Say a command" just say "call" wait for the prompt " say a name or number" and then say the last name first and then the first name. I have found that is the way I got mine to work. I also set the sensitivity to reject more(-2). For some reason I have to say the name in reverse to get it to work. Hope this helps

  2. #17
    bjene's Avatar
    bjene no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    20

    Re: Anyone having luck with their voice dialing???

    I"ve used mine successfully with about 90% success rate. This is with the wired headset that comes with the device. I think my two failures have been due to background noise. I have about 1100 entries in my address book and it has been surprisingly good at picking them out from the voice command.
    It's an interglacial period, *#%&@!

  3. #18
    jrichman's Avatar
    jrichman no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Anyone having luck with their voice dialing???

    I just bot the curve and, after hours with tech support and my own tech guys, voice dialing does not work. We use a Blackberry Enterprise Server for our contact list. I have about 1800 contacts.

  4. #19
    rrrebo's Avatar
    rrrebo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    240466CA
    Posts
    175

    Re: Anyone having luck with their voice dialing???

    Quote Originally Posted by jrichman
    I just bot the curve and, after hours with tech support and my own tech guys, voice dialing does not work. We use a Blackberry Enterprise Server for our contact list. I have about 1800 contacts.
    Welcome to the stacks! Can you be a little more specific than "does not work" ? Perhaps tell us what DOES happen? What language setting do you have Voice Dialing set to? Do you speak with non-American-English accent? Help us help you.

  5. #20
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: Anyone having luck with their voice dialing???

    Mine works beautifully - close to 100%. I don't have 1800 contacts, though - maybe that makes a difference. I've got about 400 now, but it's fast and incredibly accurate. Love it. I can't remember the last time I actually had to key in a phone number...

  6. #21
    zjfarmer's Avatar
    zjfarmer no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    366

    Re: Anyone having luck with their voice dialing???

    The only problems that I have run into is that I have quite a few clients that have similar names or names that are the same as their company name with an inc or co added.
    -- ZJ

    "If men define situations as real, they are real in their consequences." - W.I. Thomas

  7. #22
    DjSmooth's Avatar
    DjSmooth no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,080

    Re: Anyone having luck with their voice dialing???

    I use it without any problems (now), in the beginning I was only saying the first name of the contact but then I realized that it would actually look for the entire name: first, middle initial, and Last; so then I started asking her to call so and so with a first and last name.

  8. #23
    smis's Avatar
    smis no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    OU812
    Posts
    160

    Re: Anyone having luck with their voice dialing???

    Is there a way I can activate the voice dialing besides clicking the icon so I can keep t in my holster and not have to touch my phone.

  9. #24
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: Anyone having luck with their voice dialing???

    Quote Originally Posted by smis
    Is there a way I can activate the voice dialing besides clicking the icon so I can keep t in my holster and not have to touch my phone.
    You can assign Voice Dial to one of the convenience buttons (it's my left one), and also when you have a decent BT headset, you can activate Voice Dialing by tapping the connect button on your headset. Works great with a Jawbone (personal experience) and with others (from what I've read).

  10. #25
    miketl's Avatar
    miketl no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    37

    Re: Anyone having luck with their voice dialing???

    this might be a stupid question at this point in the convo, but I would like to try and sey up my voice dailing 1 more time as the first time i was setting it up in some what of a noisy enviroment, but for the life of me I have no idea how to set it up once ive done it already

    thanks

  11. #26
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: Anyone having luck with their voice dialing???

    Quote Originally Posted by miketl
    this might be a stupid question at this point in the convo, but I would like to try and sey up my voice dailing 1 more time as the first time i was setting it up in some what of a noisy enviroment, but for the life of me I have no idea how to set it up once ive done it already

    thanks
    Mike -

    Go into Options / Voice Dialing.

    Then press the menu button (to the left of the trackball). From here you can select "reset digits" (use the defaults), or "adapt digits" to train it again.

  12. #27
    miketl's Avatar
    miketl no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    37

    Re: Anyone having luck with their voice dialing???

    thanks VinmontRD
    much appreciated

  13. #28
    jdub71's Avatar
    jdub71 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    65

    Re: Anyone having luck with their voice dialing???

    I locked my keys and blackberry in a form room I had visited. I remembered that I had my Bluetooth headset in my pocket so I was able to call my friend to come back and let me in. Voice dialing worked great!
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  14. #29
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: Anyone having luck with their voice dialing???

    Quote Originally Posted by jdub71
    I locked my keys and blackberry in a form room I had visited. I remembered that I had my Bluetooth headset in my pocket so I was able to call my friend to come back and let me in. Voice dialing worked great!
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Thats pretty neat. I bet you were thankful for the headset.

  15. #30
    PoliceDog's Avatar
    PoliceDog no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: Anyone having luck with their voice dialing???

    Works perfectly for me! (This is the same application that I paid for to use on my Treo; now it's the VD app of choice for RIM? Great recommendation!)

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •