Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

im mostly interested in programs that will tell me the status of my device, programs ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    nikjay25's Avatar
    nikjay25 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    68

    Question any good sites for free apps, games for the 8900?

    Advertisement



    im mostly interested in programs that will tell me the status of my device, programs like the benchmark magic for the 8100<<but for the 8900, that will tell me statistics and in depth information about the device, not too concerned for games, but the programs giving me in depth information is what im really interested in.

  2. #2
    kidwell61's Avatar
    kidwell61 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2174C23C
    Posts
    79
    you need to download blackberrys appworld. in your browser type blackberry.com/appworld.

  3. #3
    nikjay25's Avatar
    nikjay25 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    68
    i dont have the data plan, can i still use it or no?

  4. #4
    shiaolien's Avatar
    shiaolien no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    PIN/ID
    26270B02
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by nikjay25 View Post
    i dont have the data plan, can i still use it or no?
    my understanding is that even if you don't have a data plan, if you have free wi-fi spots, you can still download and use most (i say most, not all) apps. i could, of course, be wrong. heh..heh..

  5. #5
    thbassman's Avatar
    thbassman no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    10,235
    I am not a big fan of app world but the are places: mobile.blackberry.com for instance that has some free games.

    Here is the game Lingo but it looks a little funny as this is the 83xx version . . .
    THBASSMAN

    Carpe Diem!!

    thbassmanatpinstackdotcom

    Check this out!!! Mobiletropolis

    My TORCH Rocks!

  6. #6
    MStrawder's Avatar
    MStrawder no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    1,825
    Without a data plan some apps will work if you have a Wi-Fi connection. As far as phone statistics, check out myBoxtone. Was in the beta for them a while back and it's a great app for what you want. You can join the beta program here.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Last edited by MStrawder; 07-03-2009 at 11:21 AM.

  7. #7
    nikjay25's Avatar
    nikjay25 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    68
    so when i signed up for the beta for my boxtone, when i went to the screen after i type my email address to download the program, the blackberry loads up the my boxtone logo on the top left, and the rest is a blank white page, lol im assuming my blackberry wont load it, but then i cleared the cache,hitsory, etc... restarted the browser, still same thing, any ideas on why its doing this, PS, im using the built in browser that came with the phone..

  8. #8
    nikjay25's Avatar
    nikjay25 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    68
    also when i went to download the appworld, its saying that the blackberry does not meet requirements, ive read the requirements and it does, the OS is up to date, am i missing something, the blackberry connected to the online server to download the app, by the way..

  9. #9
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877
    Be careful as you could be being charged pay per use charges if connected to data (depending on your carrier).
    You may be getting that msg due to not meeting the data requirements for the app.

  10. #10
    thbassman's Avatar
    thbassman no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    10,235
    My BOXTONE has to register over a data connection, be careful . ..
    THBASSMAN

    Carpe Diem!!

    thbassmanatpinstackdotcom

    Check this out!!! Mobiletropolis

    My TORCH Rocks!

  11. #11
    nikjay25's Avatar
    nikjay25 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    68
    hmm well there is no data limit when using wifi, its free and unlimited, as far as i know, am i correct?

  12. #12
    MStrawder's Avatar
    MStrawder no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    1,825
    Yes, when you're on a Wi-Fi connection there are no data charges, but you should still keep an eye on your BB to make sure it's connected to a signal AND you have "Wi-Fi Preferred" selected under your Mobile Network options. After you signup for BoxTone, they'll send you an email with the link to download the app. Sometimes it takes a day or two to get, but it's a great app as it allows you to monitor all the functions of your BB such as RAM, Packets in/out, battery, etc..
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate, but that we are powerful beyond measure" ~ Marianne Williamson
    Current OS list by device
    How to upgrade your OS

  13. #13
    thbassman's Avatar
    thbassman no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    10,235
    My biggest issue with wifi is that it won't work unless the radio is on. I have been told it is just a setting change needed but have not researched it any further.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  14. #14
    MStrawder's Avatar
    MStrawder no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    1,825
    There was an app featured this week that would disable Wi-Fi when it lost the signal for a period of time to save battery, but it wouldn't turn back on automatically. I'd love to see an app that did that. Maybe send out a ping every so often to check for a signal, then switch on Wi-Fi.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  15. #15
    ryfoster's Avatar
    ryfoster no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    516
    Quote Originally Posted by MStrawder View Post
    There was an app featured this week that would disable Wi-Fi when it lost the signal for a period of time to save battery, but it wouldn't turn back on automatically. I'd love to see an app that did that. Maybe send out a ping every so often to check for a signal, then switch on Wi-Fi.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    I second that because I use the wifi at home, but I so often forget to uncheck it when leaving and by the end of the day my freshly charged 8900 is nearly dead....if there was an app for this...i wonder...
    ---
    R. Foster (2 Timothy 2:15)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •