Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

I am new to BB (be nice ). I purchased the new 8310 from AT&T ... BlackBerry Curve forum

gmallory no está en línea Stack level 1

Aggravating - they changed my OS!

Advertisement

I am new to BB (be nice ). I purchased the new 8310 from AT&T last week. It got a JVM Error 535 the first day and I used the tips/tricks from this site to try to reload the OS. I gave up after a few hours of trying and the device never accepting the reloaded OS.

So...I took the device back and thought I would try a different "smart" phone. I mistakenly chose the BlackJack II which was a totally weak, non-business, non user friendly device. I hated it immediately and turned right around to go back to get the BB 8310. I really liked all the BB 8310 features and I should have just replaced it with another BB when it crashed.

AT&T gave me a new 8310 to replace the BlackJack II. But this one seems to have a different OS than the first one that I had. Argghhh...it is very frustrating!

Problems:
    There are three significant differences that I can see....
    1) The original BB 8310 had an email configuration in the out-of-the-box "Blackberry Setup". This allowed me to set up a personal email account (i.e. POP with Earthlink). The new BB 8310 does not have that option. From the Home screen, I choose "Blackberry Setup" and there are only two options..."Setup Wizard" or "Set Up Bluetooth". When I choose "Setup Wizard", at step 9 of 10, it gives me only two options:
    (a) "I want to use a work email account with a Blackberry Enterprise Server" or
    (b) "I want to skip email setup"
    I don't want to do either. I want to set up two email accounts. One is a POP Earthlink account for personal use and the other is a work Outlook account through the desktop redirector instead of the Blackberry Enterprise Server.

How do I fix that?