Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

i just installed 4.5 and now when i try to synch i get...Failed to connect ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    faisal's Avatar
    faisal no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    242DF783
    Posts
    34

    After 4.5..."Failed to Connect" when i try to SYNC

    Advertisement



    i just installed 4.5 and now when i try to synch i get...Failed to connect to the device.

    However i do see my PIN in the box of the Desktop. it seems it connected but only when i try to sync do i see that problem

    I am runningn Desktop 4.2.2

  2. #2
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Have you done a battery pull and rebooted your pc?~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    faisal's Avatar
    faisal no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    242DF783
    Posts
    34
    Yes I did both. Forwhatever reason my synch doesn't work anymore

  4. #4
    KalebsDad78's Avatar
    KalebsDad78 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    2,044
    Upgrade your DM to 4.5 or 4.6 and that will probably resolve your issue.
    New User? - Read the NEW USERS GUIDE

  5. #5
    faisal's Avatar
    faisal no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    242DF783
    Posts
    34
    Must I first uninstall 4.2.2?? I tried installing 4.6 and had issues. But I didn't uninstall 4.2.2

  6. #6
    KalebsDad78's Avatar
    KalebsDad78 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    2,044
    I would personally recommend 4.5 but yes, it would be beneficial to uninstall 4.2 first.
    New User? - Read the NEW USERS GUIDE

  7. #7
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    i would say yes but kalabs is the expert so i will leave it to him

  8. #8
    faisal's Avatar
    faisal no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    242DF783
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by KalebsDad78 View Post
    I would personally recommend 4.5 but yes, it would be beneficial to uninstall 4.2 first.
    Why 4.5 vs. 4.6?

  9. #9
    faisal's Avatar
    faisal no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    242DF783
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by KalebsDad78 View Post
    I would personally recommend 4.5 but yes, it would be beneficial to uninstall 4.2 first.
    Also Kaleb: what's the "proper" way to completly uninstall 4.2.2 DM from computer? Just "remove program"? Or do I need to do more?

  10. #10
    KalebsDad78's Avatar
    KalebsDad78 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    2,044
    I still see alot of people have some issues with 4.6. You may install it and have no problems but just to try and prevent any more problems, I suggest 4.5. If the current problem you are having is resolved, then upgrade if you like.

    And yes, just do remove program and then restart your PC and then install 4.5 or 4.6, your choice.
    New User? - Read the NEW USERS GUIDE

  11. #11
    joshko's Avatar
    joshko no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3
    I am having the same problem and after 2 hours on the phone with BB I am frustrated...they had me uninstall and re-install 4.5 but no luck...I can look around my BB and copy and move files, but I can't sync, restore or back up...any other ideas?

  12. #12
    haggisgirl's Avatar
    haggisgirl no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    40
    I've had that problem too. But I think my issue was with a 3rd party Add-In that was syncing. Once I unchecked the sync box for the add-in and I deleted the item that was syncing, I've not had the problem again. I just make sure that I do that before I try updating my OS.
    Haggisgirl
    Why yes, that is my Miata. And, yes, it has a Ford 302.

  13. #13
    magellan0547's Avatar
    magellan0547 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    242E7D27
    Posts
    770
    i would try the 4.6 DM update from the BB website...hope this helps

  14. #14
    joshko's Avatar
    joshko no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3
    tried unchecking add-ins...no luck (but thanks for the suggestion) trying 4.6 in a minute and will let you know

  15. #15
    haggisgirl's Avatar
    haggisgirl no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by joshko View Post
    tried unchecking add-ins...no luck (but thanks for the suggestion) trying 4.6 in a minute and will let you know
    In addition to unchecking the add-in (in my case, eWallet), I had to also delete the Wallet that was syncing, not just uncheck the box. I then deleted 4.6, rebooted my computer and reinstalled 4.6. Connected and synced fine so I readded the wallet and its worked since.

    Good luck.
    Haggisgirl
    Why yes, that is my Miata. And, yes, it has a Ford 302.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •