Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 30 of 30

Try to uninstall DM go into program files delete all Research in motion folders from ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #16
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297

    Advertisement



    Try to uninstall DM go into program files delete all Research in motion folders from your pc. Reboot then reinstall DM. Reboot again then plug in your device and open DM. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  2. #17
    mic8310's Avatar
    mic8310 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    25588d8d
    Posts
    227
    moderncowboy did you reply?! it says you did 17 minutes ago but i cant find a post?!

  3. #18
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    This is what I posted before...Try to uninstall DM go into program files delete all Research in motion folders from your pc. Reboot then reinstall DM. Reboot again then plug in your device and open DM.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #19
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    Did you remove your old os from your pc?~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #20
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by catstide View Post
    Did you remove your old os from your pc?~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Good question thanks catstide!

  6. #21
    mic8310's Avatar
    mic8310 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    25588d8d
    Posts
    227
    Doh there's a page 2!

    Everythin now being taken off laptop and will be installed again.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #22
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by mic8310 View Post
    Doh there's a page 2!

    Everythin now being taken off laptop and will be installed again.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Lmao yep page 2..hope that does it for you.

  8. #23
    mic8310's Avatar
    mic8310 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    25588d8d
    Posts
    227
    Nope no joy. Installed everything fresh but is no different.

    ~via BB that refuses to upgrade to 4.5. (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #24
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    mic,

    Have you tried running the install from within the application package? Connect your device via the USB then go to C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research in Motion\AppLoader. Double click on the application that says "Loader".

  10. #25
    mic8310's Avatar
    mic8310 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    25588d8d
    Posts
    227
    Will give it a go. Been reading about that crackmem - will that work if this doesn't?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #26
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    I'm not familiar with crackmem, sorry.

  12. #27
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Mic8310

    Crackmem is a utility that used to free up space on your device by removing un-wanted applications from your operating install. It will not address your issue.

    Lets take a step back and look at your issue from the start. If your computer does not recognize the new operating system the most likely issues are as follows:

    1. OS is not for your specific device (8300 will not load on 8310)
    2. OS was not properly installed on your desktop (did you launch the file you downloaded? Needed to actually install the software)
    3. OS is from a different vendor (delete the vendor file to correct this).

    After reading this thread I suspect #2 may be the issue. The file you downloaded from RIM is the installer, you need to execute it in order to get the needed files installed on your desktop....
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  13. #28
    mic8310's Avatar
    mic8310 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    25588d8d
    Posts
    227
    it works!! thanks for all the advice, i tried what everyone said and ended up downloading/installing crackmem which i recommend to any fellow illiterate pc/bb idiot like myself

    havent noticed much difference apart from now i can take videos and watch em (altho i havent tried yet) but i only did it a short while ago so still time to play

  14. #29
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Yeah, I read that you can use Crackmem to install the OS.

    Glad you're back up and running!

  15. #30
    mic8310's Avatar
    mic8310 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    25588d8d
    Posts
    227
    does seem a bit slugish tho, i get the egg timer quite a lot whereas i didnt use to. i only have a couple off applications installed and a battery pull makes no difference. oh well.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •