Results 1 to 13 of 13

i even went to tmobile and downloaded the most recent software although it was pre-loaded. ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    fleshka's Avatar
    fleshka no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    118

    Question A few probs with my Curve, any help appreciated

    Advertisement



    i even went to tmobile and downloaded the most recent software although it was pre-loaded. still gives the same errors of no additional programs to sync.

    this is for installing Opera Mini browser by the way.

    i know this has been addresssed in the past but so far i can't seem to find a remedy that works for mine.


    also, phone is having big probs getting onto wi-fi. i tried to get on my house network to no avail, i had to add a special extra connection based on the mac ID to get any signal. even, then the connection speeds were very very slow in my opinion.

    i am currently at a wi-fi free zone at a wegmans grocery, computer connected. i cannot get the blackberry connected though.

    info
    i do NOT have a data connection, i was trying wi-fi only.
    should i set my network to WIFI only? that would eliminate phone calls from coming in it seems.

    any help is greatly appreciated. thanks guys.

  2. #2
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818

    Re: A few probs with my Curve, any help appreciated

    i can try helping with opera mini installation.

    -first remove opera mini entirely from your phone.
    -before downloading it again go to >menu>options>advanced>tcp>set apn to wap.voicestream.com and leave other fields empty
    -now go to operamini.com from your phone's browser and do an OTA download of it

    let me know what happens
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  3. #3
    fleshka's Avatar
    fleshka no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    118

    Re: A few probs with my Curve, any help appreciated

    Quote Originally Posted by lucky13mt View Post
    i can try helping with opera mini installation.

    -first remove opera mini entirely from your phone.
    -before downloading it again go to >menu>options>advanced>tcp>set apn to wap.voicestream.com and leave other fields empty
    -now go to operamini.com from your phone's browser and do an OTA download of it

    let me know what happens

    well the problem is i cannot even get Opera mini onto the phone period. keeps giving me error from the data link up saying no programs to install. i had them in the same directory together as well. i then tried different languages and the same issue occurred.

  4. #4
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818

    Re: A few probs with my Curve, any help appreciated

    are you doing OTA download or desktop manager download? i think OTA is a lot better because it recognizes your phone for the appropriate version.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  5. #5
    fleshka's Avatar
    fleshka no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    118

    Re: A few probs with my Curve, any help appreciated

    Quote Originally Posted by lucky13mt View Post
    are you doing OTA download or desktop manager download? i think OTA is a lot better because it recognizes your phone for the appropriate version.

    i never got the internet from TMOBILE. i was looking to use my blackberry on wifi that is available where i work. if i can get this thing connected somehow to the wi-fi where i am now, that would be great b/c i could download it.

    if i do get connected where should i try to browse to? just opera mini's site or is there a blackberry specific site? thanks again.

  6. #6
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818

    Re: A few probs with my Curve, any help appreciated

    well blackberry site has one for owners called "Owner's Lounge" you can find that at

    www.discoverblackberry.com

    and to get operamini you can go to their site operamini.com
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  7. #7
    fleshka's Avatar
    fleshka no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    118

    Re: A few probs with my Curve, any help appreciated

    thanks lucky im gonna try that now.

  8. #8
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818

    Re: A few probs with my Curve, any help appreciated

    kk
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  9. #9
    fleshka's Avatar
    fleshka no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    118

    Re: A few probs with my Curve, any help appreciated

    got opera on the phone, started installing then error saying MUST HAVE NETWORK connection to install.


    no idea what that is all about. i downloaded it through my phone
    -------
    ps. i cant even use the gmail tool. says i need data service to use gmail
    Last edited by fleshka; 03-05-2008 at 05:19 PM. Reason: Automerged.

  10. #10
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818

    Re: A few probs with my Curve, any help appreciated

    yeah the gmail app you need a data service plan for...and since opera mini uses wap.voicesteam.com you will probably need a data service plan for that too...but the regular BB browser should work if you are in a wifi area...
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  11. #11
    fleshka's Avatar
    fleshka no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    118

    Re: A few probs with my Curve, any help appreciated

    damn is there any way to check gmail email and use google maps without the data service using WI-FI?

  12. #12
    tommy.heath's Avatar
    tommy.heath no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    27

    Re: A few probs with my Curve, any help appreciated

    Not really sure how things work with just WiFi access but, cant you just google "Gmail" and access it through there?

  13. #13
    fleshka's Avatar
    fleshka no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    118

    Re: A few probs with my Curve, any help appreciated

    Quote Originally Posted by tommy.heath View Post
    Not really sure how things work with just WiFi access but, cant you just google "Gmail" and access it through there?
    tried that, it is very very sloppy, hard to read o r nav

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •