Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35

Has anyone noticed, or is it just my 8900, thAt it takes like 5 MINUTES ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    alex003's Avatar
    alex003 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    262992F4
    Posts
    106

    8900 reboot time... WOW

    Advertisement



    Has anyone noticed, or is it just my 8900, thAt it takes like 5 MINUTES to reboot after a battery pull/alt+shift+del?!

    feed back please.

  2. #2
    s4berry's Avatar
    s4berry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    256
    Yup, it does take a while for me too.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  3. #3
    alex003's Avatar
    alex003 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    262992F4
    Posts
    106
    ya... it's super annoying. i have timed it like 3x's already ... 5 min everytime!!! bLah.

  4. #4
    jfcooley's Avatar
    jfcooley no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7,479
    I can say mine takes a bit but not 5 min.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  5. #5
    Hired's Avatar
    Hired no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    38
    Yeah mine took less than 3 mins. I used to have an 8320 and that took 5 mins to reboot, but seriously how often do you need to do a battery pull??
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  6. #6
    Delfim's Avatar
    Delfim no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Nope!
    Posts
    14,886
    Aw come on guys - the Bold takes up to 8 min. What if you had one? Anyway - I reckon it takes so long because the "treatment" is so good...

  7. #7
    princesseL's Avatar
    princesseL no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    PIN/ID
    304ca93d
    Posts
    37
    My Curve used to take like 4 minutes.What I have noticed from owning an 8700 g,pearl, and 8320 they all take a while to reboot.but how often do you need to do a battery pull?

  8. #8
    jfcooley's Avatar
    jfcooley no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7,479
    Beta testing weatherberry I pulled 5 times in one afternoon. Still never took 5 minutes.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  9. #9
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    Try clearing out your logs by holding down Alt and pressing L+G+L+G. That will help speed it up.

  10. #10
    alex003's Avatar
    alex003 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    262992F4
    Posts
    106
    i exercise regular bb maintenance on my 8900 just to keep it performing at its TOP level. I clear my logs about 1 to 2x's a day, clear the cache in my BB browser about 2x's a day, and will do a battery pull or alt+shift+del about once a week. I know it sounds a little obsessive, or a little bit on the over drive side, but i'm just used to it, plus i am a HEAVY bb user. on it 24/7 ... a true crackberry head. haha. Plus i have alot of programs that are being used so it eats up memory like crazy.

    I usually let it drop down to around 90-80mb before i do a battery pull. On my old 8320.. i used to avg. 9mb of free space :0( i love my 8900.

  11. #11
    alex003's Avatar
    alex003 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    262992F4
    Posts
    106
    Quote Originally Posted by princesseL View Post
    My Curve used to take like 4 minutes.What I have noticed from owning an 8700 g,pearl, and 8320 they all take a while to reboot.but how often do you need to do a battery pull?
    hey princess... to answer your question about how often you should battery pull, it say it depends on the user, and how many apps your running to determine that.
    :0)

  12. #12
    malejko's Avatar
    malejko no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    68
    So.. a Palm takes maybe 10 seconds to do a full hard reset. A desktop or laptop running Windoze doesn't even take 5 minutes to reboot. So why do blackberry's take so long?

  13. #13
    lovin2act's Avatar
    lovin2act no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    796
    Mine as of late takes about 2 minutes or less! I am on .174 OS
    The very existence of flamethrowers proves that sometime, somewhere, some1 said 2 thmslvs "U knw, I really want 2 set those people over there on fire, but I'm just not close engh to get the job done".

  14. #14
    thbassman's Avatar
    thbassman no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    10,235
    When in doubt-pull it out. It has a bit to do with the memory -amount or lack thereof
    THBASSMAN

    Carpe Diem!!

    thbassmanatpinstackdotcom

    Check this out!!! Mobiletropolis

    My TORCH Rocks!

  15. #15
    javatyger's Avatar
    javatyger no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    U5W15H
    Posts
    645
    Mine takes about 3min when rebooting right now. I just hate having to restart my berry when I uninstall something. Really annoying.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •