Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

Just got TMO one today how can remove it and put my own? Am i ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    BBP's Avatar
    BBP
    BBP no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    289

    Question 8900 micro SD how to remove?

    Advertisement



    Just got TMO one today how can remove it and put my own? Am i missing something? : )

  2. #2
    bajanbastard's Avatar
    bajanbastard no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    510
    Take off the battery door and you'll see the SD card slot. Gently pull back on the clip that holds the SD card in place and pull out the card.
    Device history: 8100 > 8320 > 8900 & 9530. Keep crackin'

  3. #3
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    If it's anything like the older Curve models, that door actually locks in place by sliding it up towards the middle of the device. Slide it down towards the edge of the device to unlock, THEN lift up on the clip to remove/replace the card.

  4. #4
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    they put the card inside again? hmmm...it works much better on the side!

  5. #5
    Meh!'s Avatar
    Meh! no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    PM me...
    Posts
    226
    Agreed, as it does. I love that on my 8120 its on the side..But then the other day I was thinking...hmm and I don't think I have changed it since a few days after getting the new phone when I was playing around. I think I MIGHT like it better on the inside. I don't understand on 8900 how its hot swappable, but in reports across the web they say the battery has to be removed.

  6. #6
    bajanbastard's Avatar
    bajanbastard no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    510
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    If it's anything like the older Curve models, that door actually locks in place by sliding it up towards the middle of the device. Slide it down towards the edge of the device to unlock, THEN lift up on the clip to remove/replace the card.
    It doesn't have the door anymore. Its just a slot wait lemme add a pic.
    Device history: 8100 > 8320 > 8900 & 9530. Keep crackin'

  7. #7
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Quote Originally Posted by cherrichiodo View Post
    they put the card inside again? hmmm...it works much better on the side!

    That's what I thought when I read that post. I love the look of the 8900 but if the card is on the inside, that might be the deal breaker for me. The slot on the 8220 is on the side.


  8. #8
    thbassman's Avatar
    thbassman no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    10,235
    I know it would be for me! I LOVE the fact that mine it hot swappable on my 8120! It is a must have feature as much as i like to change my tunes on my BB!
    THBASSMAN

    Carpe Diem!!

    thbassmanatpinstackdotcom

    Check this out!!! Mobiletropolis

    My TORCH Rocks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    no no people lol.
    Let make it clear.
    The card on the 8900 IS Hot Swappable. You do NOT need to turn off the phone or remove the battery.

    RIM put the memory card slot on the Bold on the side outside the device. A lot of people complained about broken memory card doors etc...

    Therefore, on the Storm and 8900, the memory card slot is UNDER the battery COVER but NOT under the battery.
    Its just as easy to access it, you pop your battery door and pull it down.

    The Memory card slot is now kinda like a tray but with only half of it covered. Basically you put your card down and then you slide the top half of it in. No need for a CLIP like on the old 83xx series.

    Hope that clears it up

  10. #10
    BBP's Avatar
    BBP
    BBP no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    289
    I agree…but 8900 is much better than curve for me screen and overall options

  11. #11
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Alrighty then! Thanks for the clarification, OT!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806

  13. #13
    cyberpyr8's Avatar
    cyberpyr8 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    78
    I had to use a flat blade screwdriver and a pair of needle nose pliers! I can't believe they didn't design this better.

  14. #14
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Quote Originally Posted by cyberpyr8 View Post
    I had to use a flat blade screwdriver and a pair of needle nose pliers! I can't believe they didn't design this better.
    OH MY! Be careful with that technique and don't break the card. I had to get a pair of tweezers once to get a SIM card out of a 7730 I had once and it looks like I MAY have to do that to get the SIM out of my 8120.


  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    Quote Originally Posted by cyberpyr8 View Post
    I had to use a flat blade screwdriver and a pair of needle nose pliers! I can't believe they didn't design this better.
    wow then you must have put it in the wrong way.
    all you have to do is slide it down gently and thats it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •