Results 1 to 13 of 13

So my internet is down at my house (I hate comcast) and I figured since ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    Hired's Avatar
    Hired no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    38

    8900 as a modem

    Advertisement



    So my internet is down at my house (I hate comcast) and I figured since I pay tmo for an unlimited blackberry plan I should be able to connect to the internet with my comp through my phone. However I can't seem to get it to work. I've got Desktop manager and device manager on with the device plugged in(via usb). I've created a dial up connection setup to com 3(which is what device manger says the bb is on). I've put in #777 in the dial section and left username and passwrod blank. Now when I try to connect it says device is busy / settings are not set. Then I tried turing off desktop manager and try connecting and it says no dial tone. Anyone know how to get this thing to work?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  2. #2
    ytsejam1138's Avatar
    ytsejam1138 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    47
    Here's a quick guide:

    Set up Internet APN.

    1. Go to Start > Settings > Control Panel.

    2. Double-click Phone and Modem Options.

    3. In the Phone and Modem Options window, click the Modems tab.

    4. Select Standard Modem and click Properties.

    5. In the Standard Modem Properties window, Click the Advanced Tab.

    6. In the Extra initialization commands field, type the following: +cgdcont=1,"IP","<your Internet APN>"

    (remove<>when typing in your APN)

    Example for AT&T; +cgdcont=1,"IP","wap.cingular"
    Example for T-mobile US; at+cgdcont=1,"IP","wap.voicestream.com"

    Note: If you do not know your Internet APN, or if you do not have an Internet APN, contact your service provider.
    I have listed some Wireless Carriers and their APNs at the end of this post.


    7. Click OK.

    8. In the Phone and Modem Options window, click OK.



    ATT/Cingular Settings

    APN: wap.cingular

    user name for APN: WAP@CINGULARGPRS.COM

    Password: CINGULAR1

    This is how I found my settings on my BB Curve - Options>Advanced Options>TCP. The APN will say, for example, wap.cingular



    Step 3



    To configure dial-up networking, complete the procedure that corresponds with the operating system you are using.

    Windows XP Operating System

    1. Go to Start > Settings > Network Connections.

    2. Double-click New Connection Wizard. The New Connection Wizard opens.

    3. Click Next.

    4. Select the Connect to the Internet option. Click Next.

    5. Select Setup my connection manually. Click Next.

    6. Select Connect using a dial-up modem. Click Next.

    7. If the Select a Device screen appears, select the Modem - Standard Modem check box. Click Next.

    8. In the ISP Name field, type a name for your connection. Click Next.

    9. In the Phone number field, type *99#. Click Next.

    10. Indicate which users will have access to the connection. Click Next.

    11. Enter the user name and password provided by your service provider. Click Next.

    12. Click Finish.

    13. In the Connect window, click Properties.

    14. In the Properties window, verify that Modem - Standard Modem appears beneath the Connect using heading, then click Configure.

    15. In the Modem Configuration window, clear the Enable hardware flow control check box and make sure none of the other check boxes are selected. Click OK.

    16. In the Properties window, click OK.


    AT&T
    Gateway IP: 10.250.250.250
    Port: 9201
    APN: proxy

    Bell Mobility
    Gateway IP: 207.236.197.199
    Port: 9203
    APN: internet.com

    Cincinnati Bell
    Gateway IP: 216.68.79.199
    Port: 9201
    APN: wap.gocbw.com
    username: cbw

    Cingular (modem compatible)
    Gateway IP: ?
    Port: ?
    APN: isp.cingular
    Username: [email address]
    Password: CINGULAR1

    Cingular
    Gateway IP: ?
    Port: ?
    APN: wap.cingular
    Username: [email address]
    Password: CINGULAR1

    Cingular
    Gateway IP: 66.209.11.61
    Port: 9203
    APN: blackberry.net

    Dobson
    APN: cellular1wap

    O2 (Germany)
    Gateway IP: 195.182.114.52
    Port: 9201
    APN: wap.viaginterkorn.de

    O2 (Holland)
    Gateway IP: 193.113.200.195
    Port: 9201
    APN: internet

    O2 (Ireland)
    Gateway IP: 192.168.90.74
    Port: 9201
    APN: wap.dol.ie
    username: gprs
    password: gprs

    O2 (UK)
    Gateway IP: 192.113.200.195
    Port: 9201
    APN: wap.o2.co.uk
    username: o2wap
    password: password

    Rogers
    Gateway IP: 208.200.67.150
    Port: 9201
    APN: blackberry.net

    T-Mobile (UK) 1
    Gateway IP: 149.254.1.10
    Port: 9201
    APN: general.t-mobile.uk

    T-Mobile (UK) 2
    Gateway IP: 140.254.1.0
    Port: 9201
    APN: blackberry.net

    T-Mobile (Germany)
    Gateway IP: 193.254.160.2
    Port: 9201
    APN: wap.t-dl.de

    T-Mobile (US)
    Gateway IP: 216.155.165.50
    Port: 9201
    APN: wap.voicestream.com

    T-Mobile (US)
    Gateway IP: ?
    Port: ?
    APN: internet2.voicestream.com

    Telcel
    APN: internet.itelcel.com
    Username: webgprs
    Password: webgrps2002

    Telefonica Movil
    Gateway IP: 192.168.80.21
    Port: 9201
    APN wap.movistar.es

    Telstra
    Gateway IP: 10.1.1.150
    Port: 9201
    APN: telstra.internet

    TIM (Italy)
    Gateway IP: 213.26.205.1
    Port: 9201
    APN: wap.tim.it

    Verizon Alternate
    Gateway IP: 12.168.70.74
    Port: 9201

    Verizon
    Gateway IP: 153.114.115.100
    Port 9203

    Vodafone (NL)
    Gateway IP: 192.168.251.150
    Port: 9201
    APN: blackberry.vodafone.nl
    username: vodafone
    Password: vodafone

    Vodafone (Spain)
    Gateway IP: 212.73.32.10
    Port: 9201
    APN: airtelwap.es
    username: wap@wap
    password: wap125

    Vodafone (UK)
    Gateway IP: 212.183.137.12
    Port: 9201
    APN: wap.vodafone.uk
    username: [email address]
    password: user

  3. #3
    Hired's Avatar
    Hired no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    38
    Thanks for the reply! Yeah I tried those steps and it dosent show the 8900 as a modem? Maby its because I'm using windows 7?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  4. #4
    bcbbanga4l's Avatar
    bcbbanga4l no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ac973e
    Posts
    1,265
    can this be done on a mac?

  5. #5
    lcgtr's Avatar
    lcgtr no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ACB469
    Posts
    341
    Get tetherberry lol
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  6. #6
    dc2rjun's Avatar
    dc2rjun no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    11
    works for me, on Windows XP and Vista. I've done it to all my blackberries.

  7. #7
    jonesjj's Avatar
    jonesjj no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    153
    Quote Originally Posted by Hired View Post
    Thanks for the reply! Yeah I tried those steps and it dosent show the 8900 as a modem? Maby its because I'm using windows 7?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Make sure you have Desktop Manager installed and open. I also have some simple setup instructions in my blog.

  8. #8
    rand0m's Avatar
    rand0m no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    171
    Quote Originally Posted by Hired View Post
    Thanks for the reply! Yeah I tried those steps and it dosent show the 8900 as a modem? Maby its because I'm using windows 7?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    I'm w/ ya on this.. i got my netbook with win7 and a 8900 =\

  9. #9
    ray244190's Avatar
    ray244190 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    askme
    Posts
    156
    Or.....you could just call T-Mobile and get to tier 3 support and they will walk you thru all the settings and if you have to use your cell to call them they will call you back to make sure it all works. That's what they get paid for.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  10. #10
    obione's Avatar
    obione no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    24aa759c
    Posts
    236
    What if I don't see an option for standard modem what can I do, dm on and blackberry connected.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  11. #11
    obione's Avatar
    obione no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    24aa759c
    Posts
    236
    I am running vista
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  12. #12
    Hired's Avatar
    Hired no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    38
    What I did to solve the "don't see standard modem" was unistall DM and reinstalled 4.6 that way I knew that the drivers for the modem was installed. Worked like a charm, or you could manually download the drivers for it on the blackberry site
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  13. #13
    obione's Avatar
    obione no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    24aa759c
    Posts
    236
    i was using 4.5 anyway so i needed to update my DM by the way thanks in your own words"worked like a charm".

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •