Results 1 to 12 of 12

What is your WiFi signal strenght and how far away you can go from your ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    rokis's Avatar
    rokis no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    23EE7C99
    Posts
    9

    8320 WiFi signal strenght

    Advertisement



    What is your WiFi signal strenght and how far away you can go from your router?
    I can only go about 20- 25 feet and if there is a wall in between then i'm losiong the signal.
    </SPAN>

  2. #2
    ajs3898's Avatar
    ajs3898 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    68

    Re: 8320 WiFi signal strenght

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I've herd that people who having problems with there wifi updated there router's firmware and that fixed some of there problems. If ur router is really old, it might not do so hot with the curve. U might want to look into getting the tmo router. I know that had a rebate going before on it where u would end up getting it for free.

  3. #3
    rokis's Avatar
    rokis no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    23EE7C99
    Posts
    9

    Re: 8320 WiFi signal strenght

    I have t-mobile router linkys.

  4. #4
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Re: 8320 WiFi signal strenght

    Try getting an extender for your router, this should improve your signal.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ********
    Posts
    394

    Re: 8320 WiFi signal strenght

    yes the signal strength is weaker on the 8320 which is expected because the antenna is smaller. Side by side with a laptop the signal meter on the 8320 displays a lower signal

  6. #6
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344

    Re: 8320 WiFi signal strenght

    I can go anywhere in my house. I can go a little ways outside.

    At my mom's we can go all the way to the street before we lose the WiFi.
    Success is not final, Failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that matters.
    My Blog , My Flickr

  7. #7
    jkai2188's Avatar
    jkai2188 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    752

    Re: 8320 WiFi signal strenght

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i can go anywhere in my house and all the way out to my mailbox on uma. So get the tmo linksys router its 50 dollars with a 50 dollar mail in rebate, "IF" you get the hotspot@home for 19.99 a month on an individual plan

  8. #8
    jak's Avatar
    jak
    jak no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    22

    Re: 8320 WiFi signal strenght

    I had the same problem. I would be using uma and start down the drive way and lose wifi BEFORE it picked up edge. I solved the problem by setting a second lynk sys up on the opisite end of the house.

    Also try changing the channel this also gave me more distance. They say to use 1 or 6 or 11.
    Good luck

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ********
    Posts
    394

    Re: 8320 WiFi signal strenght

    Quote Originally Posted by jak
    I had the same problem. I would be using uma and start down the drive way and lose wifi BEFORE it picked up edge. I solved the problem by setting a second lynk sys up on the opisite end of the house.

    Also try changing the channel this also gave me more distance. They say to use 1 or 6 or 11.
    Good luck
    a second linksys??? i though you could only have one router per DSL line am I wrong?

  10. #10
    rokis's Avatar
    rokis no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    23EE7C99
    Posts
    9

    Re: 8320 WiFi signal strenght

    I think the answer is small antenna in 8320 comparing to other devices. I tought there is something wrong with my 8320. I'll set up another router as an extender, AP.

  11. #11
    jak's Avatar
    jak
    jak no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    22

    Re: 8320 WiFi signal strenght

    BB8800 You can use two routers with dsl. Just take any of the 4 ports on the main router and hook it into the internet spot on the second router. You can then use the second router for wired and/or wireless.

    The linksys web page gives directions. But it is simple two do your self. The routers are smart and figure out what your doing. just give it a few minutes after you hook it up to set its self.

    Also you can use the same channel ot two different channels.

    I also notice that the original router is putting out a louder signal then the t-mobile router.

    Radio shack sells bigger antennas for the link routers if you need to go further

  12. #12
    bukzin's Avatar
    bukzin no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    72

    Re: 8320 WiFi signal strenght

    Have a look at http://portforward.com/english/route...outerindex.htm

    for more router info.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •