Results 1 to 15 of 15

Anyone figure out yet how to tether the 8320 on T-Moble to their Macbook or ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    Corbett's Avatar
    Corbett no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    25

    8320 + Mac + + T-Mobile = Tether?

    Advertisement



    Anyone figure out yet how to tether the 8320 on T-Moble to their Macbook or Macbook Pro? I have an unlocked 8300 on T-Mobile and cant get it to tether. Just wondering if anyone has tried it yet on the 8320?

  2. #2
    beauburchell's Avatar
    beauburchell no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: 8320 + Mac + + T-Mobile = Tether?

    i have been trying all night, with no success... called t-mobile, and a guy basically told me that when it works with anything other than the pearl, then its a fluke... and they dont officially support it.. but you can download the scripts and install them...

    i really wish i could get this working..

    peace,

    beau

  3. #3
    Corbett's Avatar
    Corbett no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    25

    Re: 8320 + Mac + + T-Mobile = Tether?

    I fo not have the 8320 yet but when I get it I am going to try. I was able to get as far as "Authenticating User" with my 8300 but then it would time out.

  4. #4
    Bobboya's Avatar
    Bobboya no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    20

    Re: 8320 + Mac + + T-Mobile = Tether?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I have tried many time to get my Tmo 8320 to work as a BT modem. Have checked many internet sites on this, tried many scripts, spent over an hour talking with Tmo tier 3 support. No real success. Same experience as you. It does connect and passes authentification. Is able to download one or two internet pages, then transfer speeds slow to a crawl. After that, only Google pages are able to load (low graphics - fast download). I wish I could get the BT modem to work. Let me know if you figure this out.

  5. #5
    cerebrallp02's Avatar
    cerebrallp02 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: 8320 + Mac + + T-Mobile = Tether?

    bump.... Same issue running Leopard.. I need to pull out my battery from my 8320 and it'll authenticate i'll be able to browse 1 website and after that it won't load any other webpages everytime I want it to authenticate i have to pull out the battery again.
    Last edited by cerebrallp02; 11-13-2007 at 10:35 PM.

  6. #6
    gkatmar's Avatar
    gkatmar no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    97

    Re: 8320 + Mac + + T-Mobile = Tether?

    My 8320 works fine on my macbook. I'm having some problems getting my sisters 8100 to work with Leopard.

  7. #7
    cerebrallp02's Avatar
    cerebrallp02 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: 8320 + Mac + + T-Mobile = Tether?

    Quote Originally Posted by gkatmar View Post
    My 8320 works fine on my macbook. I'm having some problems getting my sisters 8100 to work with Leopard.
    What settings/script did you use? How did you get it configured?

  8. #8
    dj flyy's Avatar
    dj flyy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    244ac444
    Posts
    231

    Re: 8320 + Mac + + T-Mobile = Tether?

    Quote Originally Posted by cerebrallp02 View Post
    What settings/script did you use? How did you get it configured?

    i second that question

    ... please do share!
    dj flyy

  9. #9
    NONCHALANT's Avatar
    NONCHALANT no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    204B0E0E
    Posts
    81

    Re: 8320 + Mac + + T-Mobile = Tether?

    Hmmmm good, I know I won't have problems hookin my 8320 to my Dell note book
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    sDOTmelfi's Avatar
    sDOTmelfi no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    32c3a2e5
    Posts
    65

    Re: 8320 + Mac + + T-Mobile = Tether?

    i was able to get my 8320 to work with my powerbook g4 using the 8100 script. i just followed the instructions for the 8100 script and was able to get it to work.

  11. #11
    dj flyy's Avatar
    dj flyy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    244ac444
    Posts
    231
    Quote Originally Posted by sDOTmelfi View Post
    i was able to get my 8320 to work with my powerbook g4 using the 8100 script. i just followed the instructions for the 8100 script and was able to get it to work.
    How long would it stay connected for? Any hard resets required?

    Are you running Leopard 10.5 or Tiger 10.4?

  12. #12
    happybb's Avatar
    happybb no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1

    key to tmobile tethering on mac may be BB OS version?

    i was having no luck tethering on leopard with my tmobile 8320, but today i upgraded to 4.5.xxx and it seems to work OK now. this also fixes a lot of other bugs and incompatibilities with the new versions of gmail / maps.

    if you are still trying to get it to work, i suggest giving this a go.

    the firmware i used came from orange telecom UK, 4.5.0.52
    i first installed blackberry desktop v. 4.6 on a pc to do the upgrade.
    also be sure to delete 'vendor.xml' as this will otherwise force you to stay on the official version 4.2.x

    http: //blackberryforums.pinstack.com/929-how_to_os_4_x_upgrade_for_your_blackberry.html

  13. #13
    Doozerbb's Avatar
    Doozerbb no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    248628d3
    Posts
    14
    yeah still cant get it to work under 4.5

  14. #14
    ahbilly's Avatar
    ahbilly no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    15
    What scripts are you guys using? Also, I noticed that if your TCP settings on your BB (options->advanced options->TCP) are not set to the following, it will not stay connected.

    APN: wap.voicestream.com
    USER: "blank"
    PW: "blank"


    I'm on OSX 10.5, using my 8320 os 4.5.0.69 and tethering as I type this.

    I've got the modem script from taniwha.org.uk currently using "blackberry 3G CID 1"

    PPP tab settings
    APN: wap.voicestream.com
    USER: guest
    PW: guest

    make sure you turn off "send PPP echo packets" in the PPP options

    PM me if you have any questions

  15. #15
    Doozerbb's Avatar
    Doozerbb no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    248628d3
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by ahbilly View Post
    What scripts are you guys using? Also, I noticed that if your TCP settings on your BB (options->advanced options->TCP) are not set to the following, it will not stay connected.

    APN: wap.voicestream.com
    USER: "blank"
    PW: "blank"


    I'm on OSX 10.5, using my 8320 os 4.5.0.69 and tethering as I type this.

    I've got the modem script from taniwha.org.uk currently using "blackberry 3G CID 1"

    PPP tab settings
    APN: wap.voicestream.com
    USER: guest
    PW: guest

    make sure you turn off "send PPP echo packets" in the PPP options

    PM me if you have any questions
    W00t this finally worked for me!!!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •