Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

I have a 8320 and was wondering where and how I can get a GPS ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    nikonianmike's Avatar
    nikonianmike no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    2440425B
    Posts
    74

    8320 and GPS Puck

    Advertisement



    I have a 8320 and was wondering where and how I can get a GPS puck for the phone. I was out traveling yesterday and noticed that the My Location in the map view and satalite view was off by over a mile. That makes it pretty much useless to me when I am trying to figure out which way to turn when I am looking for a road. (of course I don't use traditional or conventional maps-that would make too much sense). I know that there is some sort of puck or something that I can use with the 8320 via blue tooth. OR should I switch to the 8820 which has both the wifi and the GPS.

  2. #2
    haggisgirl's Avatar
    haggisgirl no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    40
    I use a Freedom Keychain GPS along with Mapquest Navigator and love it. Never had a problem with it pairing with my 8320 and its small enough to carry in my purse.
    Haggisgirl
    Why yes, that is my Miata. And, yes, it has a Ford 302.

  3. #3
    nikonianmike's Avatar
    nikonianmike no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    2440425B
    Posts
    74
    Awesome! I'll check it out. Has saw some people have used the Garmin 10X. How does that work?

  4. #4
    doughdaddy's Avatar
    doughdaddy no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,715
    We offer several GPS pucks here on PinStack:
    http://blackberryshop.pinstack.com/h...hCategory=1011

    I am using the Globalsat.

  5. #5
    nikonianmike's Avatar
    nikonianmike no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    2440425B
    Posts
    74
    how do you like the Globalsat. I saw that. Does it require a monthly plan? About how big is it? Is it something that I can put into my pocket when I am walking around the city?

  6. #6
    doughdaddy's Avatar
    doughdaddy no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,715
    Quote Originally Posted by nikonianmike View Post
    how do you like the Globalsat. I saw that. Does it require a monthly plan? About how big is it? Is it something that I can put into my pocket when I am walking around the city?
    I love it, very acurate.
    No, you can use with the free GPS apps out there such as BB Maps, I use TeleNav and that is $9.99/mo.
    It is 82.0 mm x 41.0 mm x 13.4 mm (per their site here: http://www.globalsat.com.tw/eng/prod...l_00000076.htm) and yes it will fit into your pocket. The battery on it lasts a long time and recharges off the same car charger as the BB.

  7. #7
    rhs1979's Avatar
    rhs1979 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    3068886F
    Posts
    53
    I'm sure this question has been asked before, but does BB Maps have a voice directions option that works over bluetooth>

  8. #8
    doughdaddy's Avatar
    doughdaddy no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,715

  9. #9
    McLuuvin's Avatar
    McLuuvin no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    30
    I know what a GPS is but what is a GPS puck??and why would you need an extra device for locating yourself when I use Telenav and have no problems locating me..

  10. #10
    doughdaddy's Avatar
    doughdaddy no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,715
    Quote Originally Posted by McLuuvin View Post
    I know what a GPS is but what is a GPS puck??and why would you need an extra device for locating yourself when I use Telenav and have no problems locating me..
    Some carriers and BB's don't have the built in GPS as an option. So the GPS puck is the only choice to use GPS on the BB with a navigation app.

  11. #11
    nikonianmike's Avatar
    nikonianmike no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    2440425B
    Posts
    74
    some devices such as the 8320 do not have gps built into the device making it necessary to have an external "puck" to allow for gps capability. The 8320 has a gps function but requires a puck to actually use it. (if I am not mistaken)

  12. #12
    McLuuvin's Avatar
    McLuuvin no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    30
    By the way I have an 8310

  13. #13
    McLuuvin's Avatar
    McLuuvin no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    30
    Has anyone tried the Garmin version? I've been meaning to compare it to Telenav but I've been getting "download failed" everytime I try to download Garmin from the BlackBerry website via OTA..

  14. #14
    rhs1979's Avatar
    rhs1979 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    3068886F
    Posts
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by doughdaddy View Post
    No and no.
    I figured as much. Thanks for the quick response.

  15. #15
    doughdaddy's Avatar
    doughdaddy no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,715
    Quote Originally Posted by McLuuvin View Post
    By the way I have an 8310
    Please update your profile then. It states you have an 8300

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •