Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

I d/l the latest 4.5 OS from the AT&T site and attempted to install it ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    potthoff's Avatar
    potthoff no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    398

    8310 Upgrade to 4.5 - Fatal Error - BB Dead

    Advertisement



    I d/l the latest 4.5 OS from the AT&T site and attempted to install it on my Curve. I got a Fatal Error message, my BB went black and now only the red light blinks. It won't turn on and the DM won't recognize it. Did I totally screw my Curve.

    Any any any help, please!!!!!

    Thanks,
    Lis
    Lis (not dead, but Berried)
    Music is feelings unspoken.

  2. #2
    Jaricanese's Avatar
    Jaricanese no está en línea Software Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    902

  3. #3
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Hey Lis,

    There's a thread in the FAQ link in my signature about how to install an OS when the PC/DM doesn't recognize your device. Start there and we'll help you along. Don't worry! We'll get you back up and running.

  4. #4
    potthoff's Avatar
    potthoff no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    398
    I did that, but when it gets to the point where it needs the DM Installer the 8310 is not recognized. ???
    Lis (not dead, but Berried)
    Music is feelings unspoken.

  5. #5
    potthoff's Avatar
    potthoff no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    398
    RoGro,

    I don't see that particular thread in the FAQ link.
    Lis (not dead, but Berried)
    Music is feelings unspoken.

  6. #6
    Jaricanese's Avatar
    Jaricanese no está en línea Software Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    902
    Exactly what step did you get up to?

  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by potthoff View Post
    RoGro,

    I don't see that particular thread in the FAQ link.
    It's the same one Jaricanese posted, Lis.

  8. #8
    potthoff's Avatar
    potthoff no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    398
    Jaricanese,

    I got to #5 where I click on "options/connection options". The device says "connected" w/ no PIN #.
    Lis (not dead, but Berried)
    Music is feelings unspoken.

  9. #9
    Jaricanese's Avatar
    Jaricanese no está en línea Software Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    902
    Not sure if it will help but I had got stuck there too before. Just disconnect the BlackBerry close out Desktop Manager and sort of start over. I had Desktop manager 4.7 and it can be a pain in the but. Kind of try it again and again and it should work. Even if Desktop manager doesn't say the phone is connected, try clicking the application loader anyway. Sometimes it still works.

  10. #10
    potthoff's Avatar
    potthoff no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    398
    Okay, it's up to #10, but there's no "Advanced" button, so I hit finish, and it's attempting to load now.
    Lis (not dead, but Berried)
    Music is feelings unspoken.

  11. #11
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    J is right, Lis. You just have to keep trying. What version of DM are you using?

    I would also recommend rebooting your PC before you try this again, just to be sure your USB ports are reset.

  12. #12
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by potthoff View Post
    Okay, it's up to #10, but there's no "Advanced" button, so I hit finish, and it's attempting to load now.
    Yes, those instructions are a bit dated. I think it's assuming you have an older version of DM, like 4.2 or 4.3 where the options are different.

    Sounds like you're making some headway, though.

  13. #13
    Jaricanese's Avatar
    Jaricanese no está en línea Software Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    902
    Quote Originally Posted by potthoff View Post
    Okay, it's up to #10, but there's no "Advanced" button, so I hit finish, and it's attempting to load now.
    There wasn't one for me neither. This is good as it starts loading make sure you put the battery it before your phone auto reboots.

  14. #14
    potthoff's Avatar
    potthoff no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    398
    Thanks, you guys, so much. I'll keep you posted on its progress.

    Lis
    Lis (not dead, but Berried)
    Music is feelings unspoken.

  15. #15
    potthoff's Avatar
    potthoff no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    398
    Well, it loaded, but I lost EVERYTHING I had previously loaded on it, even though I selected them to be loaded.
    Lis (not dead, but Berried)
    Music is feelings unspoken.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •