Results 1 to 8 of 8

I got the 8310 which is locked to Rogers, it also has no sim card. ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    steve1000's Avatar
    steve1000 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3

    Question 8310 - Rogers

    Advertisement



    I got the 8310 which is locked to Rogers, it also has no sim card.

    My question is this - do I need to activate through Rogers?

    Can I unlock this and go to another company?

    Any help or advise is very much appreciated.

    Steve

  2. #2
    jfcooley's Avatar
    jfcooley no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7,479
    You can unlock it and use it elsewhere. If you pick another provider just get sim from them.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  3. #3
    steve1000's Avatar
    steve1000 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3
    jfcooley, thanks - if I take it to say Bell, would they unlock it and give me a sim? Is this what you mean?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    jfcooley's Avatar
    jfcooley no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7,479
    You can get the sim from bell (assuming they're gsm) but you'll most likely have to pay for an unlock code from either ebay or one of the many sites on the web.

    I can't remember who I've used, but about 20-30 bucks is average. You prob can find cheaper.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  5. #5
    SGZrazberry's Avatar
    SGZrazberry no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    488
    Bell is not gsm so can't use the phone with them. Telus is ur only other option -n Canada I believe. Or..you can unlock and sell or trade for non gsm BB. Places like used+ttawa.com (insert ur city) or kijiji have lots of options. Good luck!
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  6. #6
    jfcooley's Avatar
    jfcooley no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7,479
    Quote Originally Posted by SGZrazberry View Post
    Bell is not gsm so can't use the phone with them. Telus is ur only other option -n Canada I believe. Or..you can unlock and sell or trade for non gsm BB. Places like used+ttawa.com (insert ur city) or kijiji have lots of options. Good luck!
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Thanks, I hedged my bets with what I said, but not familiar with canadian providers.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #7
    steve1000's Avatar
    steve1000 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3
    thanks

  8. #8
    bbzone's Avatar
    bbzone no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    14

    buy sim from Rogers or purchase online

    I don't think there is a better GSM choice than Rogers. You can buy a sim from them for about $40 or, as I did this week, online for $12. Then go to the store and get the plan you want. Bell is CDMA, not GSM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •