Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23

You know BB Maps works very well with the GPS on the 8310, Much better ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #16
    DjSmooth's Avatar
    DjSmooth no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,080

    Re: 8310 Built in GPS w/ Google Maps

    Advertisement



    You know BB Maps works very well with the GPS on the 8310, Much better than on Google Maps and it is a free download
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Last edited by DjSmooth; 01-23-2008 at 04:37 PM.

  2. #17
    Skimball's Avatar
    Skimball no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: 8310 Built in GPS w/ Google Maps

    I have a 8310 with Google maps and all I do is open the Gmaps menu and click on "my location" and it seems to make my map jump from the cell tower type locator to GPS.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806

    Re: 8310 Built in GPS w/ Google Maps

    as for me i have to refresh my gps information in the gps (advanced options) then google map uses gps and finds me within 4m which is pretty impressive and i can actually see the pin move while i walk !!

  4. #19
    DjSmooth's Avatar
    DjSmooth no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,080

    Re: 8310 Built in GPS w/ Google Maps

    Well, I'm about to uninstall Google Maps, cause it just isn't working right for me, I have no problems at all with BB Maps. Google maps just will not change from the "My Location" thing

    After refreshing my gps location, haven't had a problem with google maps finding me, however that Icon is so small, I prefer BB Maps, its much better, bigger display, can some even closer than google maps, basically its just a whole lot better.
    Last edited by DjSmooth; 01-25-2008 at 11:44 AM.

  5. #20
    OzzieDog's Avatar
    OzzieDog no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    179

    Re: 8310 Built in GPS w/ Google Maps

    I use Google Maps on both my 8310 and 8820, shows "My Location" within 3 meters. Also tracks while moving. No problems with Google Maps. Have not tried BB Maps. Good luck with whichever you use.

  6. #21
    rabbott's Avatar
    rabbott no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    46

    Re: 8310 Built in GPS w/ Google Maps

    @lamsik - google maps uses a fair amount of data. It does not store maps on the device - except for a small cache (not sure how big this is). The maps are downloaded OTA on the fly and there is not an option to install maps from other sources.

    It does tell you how much data it's used in the upper-right corner. I've seen easily 200KB+ used on some sessions.

    If you only have 3MB per month this may be an issue for you.

  7. #22
    lrovb08's Avatar
    lrovb08 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2
    Ok. I'm a little off subject here. But I can't seem to download any kind of themes from pinstack on here. Can someone please help me?

  8. #23
    ghostshell's Avatar
    ghostshell no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    45
    it usually says what amount of KB are loading

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •