Results 1 to 10 of 10

All I was doing with my AT&T 8300 was trying to load a new version ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    mthhurley's Avatar
    mthhurley no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    32b64c36
    Posts
    29

    8300 Trashed on upgrade

    Advertisement



    All I was doing with my AT&T 8300 was trying to load a new version of Texas Hold'em...Had to do it through the Application loader wizard. 4.2.2.12 is the version of Desktop Manager.

    When I chose the alx and hit next, it told me it was doing a ton of other updates...none of which I could uncheck.

    So I went with it and boom....error messages and a useless handheld. All I get on boot up now is a white screen with
    "Platform version 2.4.0.73
    SavedMessages
    Options"

    And none of them do anything.

    Need help...How do I bring this back to life?

  2. #2
    mthhurley's Avatar
    mthhurley no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    32b64c36
    Posts
    29
    Oh and Desktop Manager can no longer connect via the USB cable.


    Grrrrrrr

  3. #3
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    I did this a few weeks ago on an 8700 I own. I downloaded the wrong 8700 OS theme onto it. major drag. hour glass-red alert, over and over. I tried all weekend with the help of some very nice (and patient) folks here on Pinstack to get it working and was unable to. As a last resort, contact the folks an BBRepairShop. they will wipe it for you and install your OS for $50.

  4. #4
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848
    But first try the following link, KB03485 - Run Application Loader when the BlackBerry device does not connect. Make sure the first time you do, not to check anything in app loader but the Core Blackberry applications, No third party apps initially.

    Rcbjr.


    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  5. #5
    mthhurley's Avatar
    mthhurley no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    32b64c36
    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by Rcbjr View Post
    But first try the following link, KB03485 - Run Application Loader when the BlackBerry device does not connect. Make sure the first time you do, not to check anything in app loader but the Core Blackberry applications, No third party apps initially.

    I've wiped and reinstalled the OS once or twice before, but this one, I just can't seem to get it to connect this time to do it.

    I've tried the battery trick a few times, no luck.....This is so frustrating and stupid...this thing had been running great for 6 months, now it's a coaster. I live by this thing for work and can't ship it off to someone to fix. Will the local AT&T store do it?

  6. #6
    mthhurley's Avatar
    mthhurley no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    32b64c36
    Posts
    29
    Gawd this is maddening....The frigging application sees the BB...it see the USB Pin device and number but just doesn't connect to it.............

  7. #7
    mthhurley's Avatar
    mthhurley no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    32b64c36
    Posts
    29
    Ah ha!!! JL_Cmder to the rescue!!! Got it to wipe and it's reinstalling the OS now.

    Thanks all....

  8. #8
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    I feel your pain. I did the same thing chokem did about 2 years ago on a 7105t. I was up all night wiping, reloading and reinstalling the apps I had on there.


  9. #9
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    Quote Originally Posted by mthhurley View Post
    Ah ha!!! JL_Cmder to the rescue!!! Got it to wipe and it's reinstalling the OS now.

    Thanks all....
    Good for you!!! I never could get the JL_Cmder to connect. Hope it works out for you.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    Just be patient.. If you don't learn to have patience than your in a heap of trouble. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •