Results 1 to 10 of 10

Here are what I did when I got my 8300 a few days back. I ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    blueshark's Avatar
    blueshark no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4

    8300: Java Error

    Advertisement



    Here are what I did when I got my 8300 a few days back. I installed the AT&T OS (4.2.2.186); then the next day the Rogers OS (4.2.2.192) came out, and I installed that. Oh yeah, I also have 2GB media card in my 8300 (not sure whether it's related with the problem).

    When I soft-reboot with the content protection is checked, I get Java Exception error immediately after entering the password.

    If the content protection is unchecked, I don't get that error.

    Anybody has the same experience? Or am I standing alone with this one?

  2. #2
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: 8300: Java Error

    did it happen with the AT&T OS, or just after going to Rogers? Did you install any 3rd party applications when it started to happen?
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  3. #3
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: 8300: Java Error

    What is the complete error report? Just "Java Exception Error"?

    Rcbjr
    ~via My BB Curve (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: 8300: Java Error

    welcome to the stacks blueshark.
    haven't seen that one pop up yet for users.

    however it would be useful for us trying to help, if you could fill out your profile further. that makes it alot faster when we need info to help ya.
    thanks
    feel free to ask away if you see any other questions. I know you will have others.
    The BB is very complex, yet easy to use
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

  5. #5
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: 8300: Java Error

    wow three at a time that's cool
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

  6. #6
    blueshark's Avatar
    blueshark no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4

    Re: 8300: Java Error

    I didn't have much time to fiddle with ATT OS, only after I installed Rogers I have the time to tinker with it.

    Anyway, I have been playing with it since my post and now the error is gone. What I did:
    - uncheck the content protection
    - soft-reboot
    - backup my stuff from media card
    - reformat card
    - reboot
    - enable content protection
    - soft-reboot and I don't get the error again

    For my curiosity, I soft-reboot again. Yet, I don't get the error.

    ???

  7. #7
    blueshark's Avatar
    blueshark no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4

    Re: 8300: Java Error

    Btw, when I installed Rogers OS, sd card and content protection were enable.

  8. #8
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: 8300: Java Error

    Quote Originally Posted by blueshark
    I didn't have much time to fiddle with ATT OS, only after I installed Rogers I have the time to tinker with it.

    Anyway, I have been playing with it since my post and now the error is gone. What I did:
    - uncheck the content protection
    - soft-reboot
    - backup my stuff from media card
    - reformat card
    - reboot
    - enable content protection
    - soft-reboot and I don't get the error again

    For my curiosity, I soft-reboot again. Yet, I don't get the error.

    ???
    that is definately strange.. but glad it stopped for ya.
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  9. #9
    jloverg's Avatar
    jloverg no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    263

    Re: 8300: Java Error

    if you have any 3rd party software remove them and install them 1 by 1 until you find to bad 1

  10. #10
    surfwmn7's Avatar
    surfwmn7 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    35
    I am getting a java error message also. My IT dept. wiped my blackberry because of some server updates or something. When I go through my password stuff and get on my device I get the following error:

    Uncaught exception:
    java.lang.ClassCast Exception

    You need to hit the OK button to clear it.

    What is this and how do I get rid of it.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •