Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Hi i just did the upgrade and i've noticed two issues. First, the HTML email ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    dirtydizz's Avatar
    dirtydizz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    11

    4.5 upgrade - no html email and google maps freezes when initializing

    Advertisement



    Hi i just did the upgrade and i've noticed two issues. First, the HTML email is not working. What steps can I take to get it going?

    Secondly, google maps, which i deleted and re-downloaded twice, freezes at 10% when i try to start it. What can I do? Do I need to wipe the phone? That is one thing I did not do.

    Thanks much,

    DD

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Welcome to PinStack, dirtydizz!

    Make sure the settings are correct for the HTML e-mails first. Go into a messages folder and press the BB menu button (to the left of the trackball). Go to Options>Email Settings and make sure Enable HTML Email is set to yes.

    Next, go into your BIS account and resend the service books from there.

    Finally, pull your battery for about 30 seconds (not really necessary for the HTML e-mail) to see if this doesn't resolve your Google Maps issue. I don't use it, so I'm not sure what the issue is.

    Anyway, any messages that come in from that point forward should be in HTML format. Note that you will have to press the BB menu button while reading a message to force the download of images. This is a security feature/issue and is unfortunately a requirement. Some people say that after awhile the images start downloading automatically, but I have yet to see that happen on my device.

    Hope this helps!

    Roger

  3. #3
    Allwin's Avatar
    Allwin no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    58
    I'm not sure on the Google maps. About html e-mail you need to resend your service books and that will clear up that problem.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    Allwin's Avatar
    Allwin no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    58
    Hehe sorry rogro I think I posted about the same time as you.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by Allwin View Post
    Hehe sorry rogro I think I posted about the same time as you.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    LOL, yeah, but as you can see, I'm much more verbose than you were!

  6. #6
    dirtydizz's Avatar
    dirtydizz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    11

    hmmm

    ok this is weird but i have nothing that says Enable HTML Email in my email settings.

    What is my BIS account?

    have tried the battery pull and no luck

    oh and thanks for the welcome!
    Last edited by dirtydizz; 08-20-2008 at 02:03 PM. Reason: forgot something

  7. #7
    dirtydizz's Avatar
    dirtydizz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    11
    ok i think i found the BIS - went through blackberry site got to my tmobile and found the resend service books link. we'll see what that does.

  8. #8
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by dirtydizz View Post
    ok this is weird but i have nothing that says Enable HTML Email in my email settings.

    What is my BIS account?

    have tried the battery pull and no luck

    oh and thanks for the welcome!
    Allllrighty, then!

    Let's step back a bit here.

    We know you have upgraded to 4.5, correct? If you go to Options>About, the version is the 3rd line down.

    Who is your service provider?

  9. #9
    dirtydizz's Avatar
    dirtydizz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    11
    that seems to have worked for the html issue. rebooting to see if it works but the html option WAS there this time.

  10. #10
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by dirtydizz View Post
    ok i think i found the BIS - went through blackberry site got to my tmobile and found the resend service books link. we'll see what that does.
    Okay, cool. We're on the right track here. Existing e-mails will not be in HTML format, but anything new coming in should be.

    Check to see if you have that option now in your E-mail Settings.

  11. #11
    dirtydizz's Avatar
    dirtydizz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    11
    def have the 4.5.052 I checked

    t mobile

  12. #12
    dirtydizz's Avatar
    dirtydizz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    11
    okay understood. the option was there so I think i'm set on the HTML.

    Now just need to figure out the google maps issue. This is a pretty crucial app.

  13. #13
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Thanks. Make sure you put that all in your profile (top right corner of the page in the blue box - Control Panel>Edit Profile).

    You've got the HTML issue resolved. Please see my comments above on how it works.

    Hopefully someone else will interject with suggestions for Google Maps. You might want to do a search of the threads to see if anyone has reported anything similar after the 4.5 upgrade.

  14. #14
    dirtydizz's Avatar
    dirtydizz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    11
    Thanks RoGro.

    Hopefully. I did a search and found no similiar problems. Might it have something to do with "modules". What are modules? I noticed there are five different google maps modules for the one google maps app file. I tried deleting them all but it didn't seem to want to remove it from the modules list, even after I deleted it as an app. I just rebooted lets see if it's still there (on the modules list).

    Perhaps once i get that cleared i can re-install and it will work?

  15. #15
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    You may need to wipe the device and start from scratch. Could be that some "ghosts" of the app are remaining after you delete them from the handheld. Hopefully you don't need to go that far, though.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •