Results 1 to 8 of 8

I've received 2 Storm refubs both of which have Mass Storage Mode crippled. According to ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #1
    mfathauer's Avatar
    mfathauer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1

    Verizon refubs Mass Storage Faulty

    Advertisement



    I've received 2 Storm refubs both of which have Mass Storage Mode crippled. According to RIM rep, this has been an ongoing issue with Bolds. Appears that the reprogramming is faulty and sets an incorrect bit so that regardless of user setting (on or prompt) Mass Storage Mode is not available. No promps occur and neither the device nor SD card are available as drives in XP or Vista.

    Tech support at Verizon seems unaware of the issue and it took 3 reps at RIM to come to this conclusion. I'm going to give RIM one last chance to fix one of the refurbs or demand a new phone from Verizon. I'm aware of the BB Storage Activation fix but chose not to use it except as a last resort.

    RIM / Verizon need to get on this issue.

    Marc

  2. #2
    Sheriff66's Avatar
    Sheriff66 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    3

    Thumbs down

    Quote Originally Posted by mfathauer View Post
    I've received 2 Storm refubs both of which have Mass Storage Mode crippled. According to RIM rep, this has been an ongoing issue with Bolds. Appears that the reprogramming is faulty and sets an incorrect bit so that regardless of user setting (on or prompt) Mass Storage Mode is not available. No promps occur and neither the device nor SD card are available as drives in XP or Vista.

    Tech support at Verizon seems unaware of the issue and it took 3 reps at RIM to come to this conclusion. I'm going to give RIM one last chance to fix one of the refurbs or demand a new phone from Verizon. I'm aware of the BB Storage Activation fix but chose not to use it except as a last resort.

    RIM / Verizon need to get on this issue.

    Marc
    My refurb is having this issue and the fix isn't working, guess I need to get on the horn with Verizon ASAP

  3. #3
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Is this the fix you won't try? http://forums.pinstack.com/f61/mass_storage_issues_heres_the_fix-96938/

    I would think it would be less aggravation to just try it than to fight with vzw or RIM....but maybe that's just me....I would always rather try a fix that seems to work for most than spend time on the phone explaining, arguing, getting transferred from one rfep to another...
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  4. #4
    idriveacomet65's Avatar
    idriveacomet65 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1
    i used this fix on my refurb Storm and it worked flawlessly. i would do this before i bothered with Verizon / RIM.

  5. #5
    shellbern's Avatar
    shellbern no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2

    BB Storm Mass Storage Fix

    Hi I'm a newbie--first time on the forum. I just received a refurbished BB Storm and can't transfer data from my desktop, Windows XP Pro, to my BB Storm via Mass Storage transfer. My desktop does not recognize my Storm. I notice in this forum that there is a fix, but I cannot figure how to do it. Could you please give step-by-step detailed instructions?
    Thanks so much!!

  6. #6
    GaBulldog's Avatar
    GaBulldog no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    145
    shellbern:

    1. Download the *.rar file
    2. Unzip the *.rar file
    3. Connect your phone via usb to computer
    4. Run the *.bat file (that was extracted from the *.rar file)
    (a DOS screen will appear)
    5. Click any key to continue
    6. Your Device will reboot!
    7. Once the reboot is complete, unplug your usb cable & exit DOS.
    8. Re-insert your usb cable & your computer should identify your phone as a drive & your memory card as a drive.
    Last edited by GaBulldog; 08-17-2009 at 05:01 PM.

  7. #7
    shellbern's Avatar
    shellbern no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2
    Thanks GaBulldog for the detailed instructions. It worked great. I agree with others that the fix is the way to go. Verizon/BlackBerry didn't even seem to know that there was a problem.

  8. #8
    msgallin's Avatar
    msgallin no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1
    Thanks for the help guys... I was going crazy trying to figure this one out.....

    Man I do hate refirbs....

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •