Results 1 to 10 of 10

Is anyone tethering with Vista and verizon? I have gotten it to work but it ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #1
    fstbusa's Avatar
    fstbusa no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    3054210e
    Posts
    131

    tethering with vista

    Advertisement



    Is anyone tethering with Vista and verizon? I have gotten it to work but it disconnects after about 5 minutes of use.

  2. #2
    dean0uga's Avatar
    dean0uga no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    415
    Quote Originally Posted by fstbusa View Post
    Is anyone tethering with Vista and verizon? I have gotten it to work but it disconnects after about 5 minutes of use.
    as in using vista for the DM and have verizon as the carrier? Disconnects from?

  3. #3
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859
    I have Vista/Verizon...no issues. Make sure latest Desk Top software is installed and a current version of VZ-Access is installed. Make sure you connect w/DTM first, then open VZ-Access and setup connection.

  4. #4
    fstbusa's Avatar
    fstbusa no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    3054210e
    Posts
    131
    Quote Originally Posted by Jbee View Post
    I have Vista/Verizon...no issues. Make sure latest Desk Top software is installed and a current version of VZ-Access is installed. Make sure you connect w/DTM first, then open VZ-Access and setup connection.
    exactly what I do and it seems that desktop manager crashes after approximately 5 minutes of use. Does the storm automatically go into standby mode or anything that would cause this? I can reconnect only after I restart my machine.

    Vista gives me an error saying desktop manager has stopped responding and it is trying to find a solution.

  5. #5
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859
    Quote Originally Posted by fstbusa View Post
    exactly what I do and it seems that desktop manager crashes after approximately 5 minutes of use. Does the storm automatically go into standby mode or anything that would cause this? I can reconnect only after I restart my machine.

    Vista gives me an error saying desktop manager has stopped responding and it is trying to find a solution.
    Do you have the newest Vista service pack? Your symptoms sound like old Vista SP issues.

  6. #6
    vsp1140's Avatar
    vsp1140 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    51
    There is no need to open DM to tether. Simply plug your phone in to your machine and open VZ access.

  7. #7
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859
    Quote Originally Posted by vsp1140 View Post
    There is no need to open DM to tether. Simply plug your phone in to your machine and open VZ access.
    Tried once and I could not connect.

  8. #8
    vsp1140's Avatar
    vsp1140 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    51
    I tether for 8 hours a day on a vista machine and not had that issue.

  9. #9
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Actually what you need is Device Manager running, which typically comes up with Desktop Manager. You might try this, connect your phone and start Desktop Manager, then find Device Manager in your system tray and change the setting to "start BB device manager on system start up". This should allow you to tether without launching the actual desktop manager application.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #10
    fstbusa's Avatar
    fstbusa no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    3054210e
    Posts
    131
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Actually what you need is Device Manager running, which typically comes up with Desktop Manager. You might try this, connect your phone and start Desktop Manager, then find Device Manager in your system tray and change the setting to "start BB device manager on system start up". This should allow you to tether without launching the actual desktop manager application.
    I'll give that a shot. thanks

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •