Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Hi Guys, I am having issues with syncing my Storm with my Desktop Manager. I ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #1
    timastyle's Avatar
    timastyle no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    49

    Sync Issues with Desktop Manager

    Advertisement



    Hi Guys,

    I am having issues with syncing my Storm with my Desktop Manager. I have .103 OS installed and running Desktop Manager 4.3. I have BIS and every time I try to sync my phone with my outlook, I get an error message that "Desktop Manager has stopped working". I used to be able to sync with no issues, but even before I installed .103, I started getting this problem with my .75 OS. Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    timastyle,

    I'd recommend you do a complete uninstall of DM 4.3 and then download and install version 4.6.

    You can find instructions for uninstalling DM, as well as a link for obtaining DM 4.6 in the Technical Support Blog link in my signature.

    Please post back if you have further questions/issues.

    Regards,
    Roger

  3. #3
    timastyle's Avatar
    timastyle no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    49
    So I did as you said and I am still having the same problem. I am able to sync my address book with no problems, but as soon as it tries to sync my calendar, it gets and error and shuts down (even with 4.6 and 4.7). What could be the issue? It's quite annoying really.

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Could be some corruption in the calendar itself then. Do you get any kind of indication as to what the error is? How many calendar items do you have?

    I've seen this issue with the address book where there is a blank address in the Contacts throwing the error. Might be something similar with the address book.

    You could also export the calendar to an Excel spreadsheet for a quicker way to view the data in there without having to look through it in Outlook.

  5. #5
    bbpearldean's Avatar
    bbpearldean no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    31A3C466
    Posts
    107
    I had the same problem & Verizon had me delete/ remove the calendar database through DM & re sync.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  6. #6
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    ^^^ That's an option, too. Thanks Dean!

    If you're not sure how to do that, Tim, post back and we'll walk you through it.

  7. #7
    timastyle's Avatar
    timastyle no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    49
    I don't know how to delete my calendar database through DM. Would I still need to do this if I had just installed a new DM? I completely uninstalled it and installed a new version and got the same issue. I would think that with a new DM, it wouldn't have anything in its database, but I could and probably am wrong.

    Please let me know how to delete the database.

  8. #8
    timastyle's Avatar
    timastyle no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    49
    OK, so I just googled and found how you delete the database, but when I went to it, it didn't have any databases. Now I'm really confused.

  9. #9
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Connect your device to the PC and launch DM.
    Go into Backup and Restore>Advanced.
    All the databases will then populate in the right window.
    Scroll down to Calendar, highlight it, then press the Clear button.

  10. #10
    timastyle's Avatar
    timastyle no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    49
    Worked like a charm guys! Thanks!

  11. #11
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Glad you're back in business!

  12. #12
    timastyle's Avatar
    timastyle no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    49
    OK, so I just tried syncing again and the same issue happened. Am I going to have to clear the database every time I want to sync? That doesn't make sense.

  13. #13
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Are you on DM 4.6 or 4.7?

  14. #14
    timastyle's Avatar
    timastyle no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    49
    4.6, just as you suggested

  15. #15
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Okay, then I'll go back to my thought that there is a corrupt record somewhere in your calendar. Have you checked through it to see if there might be any empty appointment or something of that nature?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •