Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Posted on a different BB forum today. They got an unlock code from Verizon to ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #1
    TheBigNewt's Avatar
    TheBigNewt no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    402

    Storm works on ATT/Tmobile

    Advertisement



    Posted on a different BB forum today. They got an unlock code from Verizon to use it overseas, entered it, popped in their ATT/Tmob SIMs and are in business. Have not yet posted pix of the browser yet.
    BB Pearl, Seidio rubberized case.

  2. #2
    puertoricokris's Avatar
    puertoricokris no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    87
    the device is a hybrid device. It WILL work on att and other carriers...but u will not be able to use 3G...and verizon blocks their gps and stuff so you cant really use that either (not 100% sure if blackberry maps works or not, but the one I got to play with today didnt have blackberry maps...only verizon navigator.

  3. #3
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557
    Sweet! I don't care about 3G or the GPS because I never use that. Other then that is everything else working fine? If this is confirmed, I might end up getting an unlocked Storm. MIGHT!
    T-Mobile HTC Touch Pro2 & I'm not coming back! :D

    --HeavyC.

  4. #4
    puertoricokris's Avatar
    puertoricokris no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    87
    LOL if u read through the forums people have been saying this is true for quite a while. Ive seen videos of ppl putting their ATT Sim cards into the storm and it working.

    BUT ull have to pay full price for the phone... which sucks

  5. #5
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994
    LOL...I'd wait until you can find one in person that works....
    Color---it's nothing but a hue of the rainbow...why do people place such importance in it?

  6. #6
    puertoricokris's Avatar
    puertoricokris no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by ItsNowOrNever View Post
    LOL...I'd wait until you can find one in person that works....
    I will try it at work this week. Prob going to be friday though since i will be in the store early and can get some time in before customers come in

  7. #7
    planneau's Avatar
    planneau no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,029
    Quote Originally Posted by ItsNowOrNever View Post
    LOL...I'd wait until you can find one in person that works....

    It's true, an unlock storm will work on Tmo and att. I seen pic's.
    I will be buying one pretty soon.
    ..........SHAKE N BAKE..........

  8. #8
    tensionline's Avatar
    tensionline no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    204D217F
    Posts
    20
    There is no reason why a Bluetooth GPS wouldn't work if the VZ Navigator doesnt.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    puertoricokris's Avatar
    puertoricokris no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    87
    Yeah but it sucks that you have to buy a gps receiver when the phone already has one...but verizon doesn't want u to use it unless u pay them 10 dollars a month~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557
    Shoot, I want to see someone who has T-Mobile and record him or herself with a Storm on T-Mobile's network!
    T-Mobile HTC Touch Pro2 & I'm not coming back! :D

    --HeavyC.

  11. #11
    Erievon's Avatar
    Erievon no está en línea Awaiting email verification
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    149
    I'm thinking, for ATT and T-Mobile, wouldn't it be better to get an unlocked 9500, rather then a 9530?

  12. #12
    puertoricokris's Avatar
    puertoricokris no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    87
    Yeah 9500. I'm not 100% sure but I don't think u have to unlock the gsm bands...also verizon tends to block certain things on their phones so others can't use it unless its through verizon, but yeah 9500 would be better in my opinion, but it'll be a lot harder to find ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    diabloboi87's Avatar
    diabloboi87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    31cdb8ca
    Posts
    235
    [FONT=Verdana]Do you thinking flashing the OS to a different carriors would unblock the gps or is this a hardware block? Haven't used verizon blackberrys before.[/FONT]

  14. #14
    woodi68's Avatar
    woodi68 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    woodi68
    Posts
    660
    My understanding was the VZ GPS locks were always physical. Example being an 8830 on Sprint has open GPS, but locked on Verizon. If I load the Sprint OS, makes no difference, still can't use the GPS.

    Perhaps it's something deeper in one of the COD (JAD?) files though... like unlocking vendor codes! Those are all "locked" through coding. I would have "thunk" someone would have found that already though...

    (P.S. I'm hearing a lot of chatter in here about it working on AT&T, but I ain't seein no proof except "I saw it on another page".)

    Hey Diablo, wanna drop your sim in my Storm?

  15. #15
    bglawrence's Avatar
    bglawrence no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2746CB17
    Posts
    312
    the Bold Browser doesnt work on Tmobile network..only hotspot.. so what about the storm? will the browswer work since Tmo doesnt support the service books for it either. Anyone know?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •