Results 1 to 7 of 7

Other than turning off the radio connection, how do I know if I am using ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #1
    bshpmark's Avatar
    bshpmark no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    105

    Storm 2 - any way to force it to use Wi-Fi

    Advertisement



    Other than turning off the radio connection, how do I know if I am using Wi-Fi or not? I know there is the Wi-Fi icon. Mine is white not grayed out. So I know I have a cfonnection. However, some apps like Viigo and BerryWeather seem to be using 3G and not Wi-Fi. I see no speed increase whatsoever with Wi-Fi.

    Is there any way to tell the Storm 2 that when both connections are available to use Wi-Fi?

  2. #2
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    I know the browser will automatically default to Wi-Fi if it's active, and so will sending and receiving emails. I know apps like Social Scope (Which you can manually set to Wi-FI, but mine seems to auto-detect it), and Facebook are much faster for me when I am connected to my wireless at home because I have terrible receptions. Even BBM messages send faster. It would take up to 30-30 seconds for me to send a message whenever I was at home. The Wi-Fi automatically connects when I get home and am in range. I've notice a huge difference for whatever that's worth...

  3. #3
    JoshSeawell's Avatar
    JoshSeawell no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    767
    I'm with Moto on this one I can see a Huge increase in speed with wifi, especially sending emails with attachments or being on BBM, browsing is a lot faster on non mobile sites.
    -Josh

  4. #4
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734
    On my 8900 there is a setting under option/mobile network to change Connection Preference to wifi only, or wifi preferred
    Looking for Wallpapers or Icons for making themes? I can help!

    Truth + Clarity = Power

    If you are going to take the time to respond... take the time to actually understand that to which you are responding.

  5. #5
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    Interesting Jeff, thanks for pointing that out. That option isn't there on the S2...I'll dig around for it.

  6. #6
    juliank's Avatar
    juliank no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by bshpmark View Post
    Other than turning off the radio connection, how do I know if I am using Wi-Fi or not? I know there is the Wi-Fi icon. Mine is white not grayed out. So I know I have a cfonnection. However, some apps like Viigo and BerryWeather seem to be using 3G and not Wi-Fi. I see no speed increase whatsoever with Wi-Fi.

    Is there any way to tell the Storm 2 that when both connections are available to use Wi-Fi?
    Go into Options-Advanced Options-Browser and select default as Hotspot Browser. Ur BB will then choose WiFi over 3G.

  7. #7
    sturgisherb's Avatar
    sturgisherb no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1
    can blackberry storm 2 be used as a stand alone WiFi and or Blackberry Maps satilite GPS when taken off verizon network so as not to incur data charges?
    Rep at Verizon indicated I could, but not in two days poking around!
    Verizon rep also told me that verizon will alow you to take phone on and off service daily! and charg a prorate fee for days used only!
    Does this sound for real, or is this a santa story?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •